Gluten Free Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I made this cake as written. It had a slimy, chewy texture (too much xanthan gum?-the batter was slimy too). It had an overpowering flavour of baking powder/soda-it had that acidic fishy aftertaste. Also, there is too much millet flour for my taste-even the batter tasted overpoweringly of its musty flavour. I prefer millet in smaller portions as a compliment to other flours, not as a main flour. I noticed that some people who reviewed this with five stars didn't use the flours as written-maybe this would be better with less millet and subbing a milder flour or even potato or tapioca starch. It has a nice weight to it. Not too light and not too heavy. I spread frosting on it with no problems of it giving too much. I didn't make cupcakes. For me it yielded two 9-inch cakes. Perhaps with adjustments to the amounts of stabiliser/thickening agent, leavening agents, and flours I would like it, but then it would be a different recipe. Thank you for the recipe, sorry it didn't work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I made this recipe for my wife today. I used brown rice flour and garbanzo bean flour for the millet(that's all I had) and they came out great. My wife absolutely loved them, no frosting was necessary. Told me this is a KEEPER as a recipe. Thank you for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I am making this frosting for a baby shower to pair with gluten free cupcakes. A tad sweet, but just cut a bit of the sugar and a little more of the fats. Btw, does this go well with chocolate cupcakes? Just curious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
good - a little dry but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I made this in a 9 x 11 pan for my daughter's 35th birthday. She has celiacs disease so we have to be very careful with ingredients. This cake turned out beautifully. Raves all around and no one thought it was gluten free flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I've had much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jr.Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
verygood base recipe for creating lava cakes filled with nutella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
DELICIOUS! I made half a recipe, which made 24 mini cupcakes. I used Bob's Red Mill AP Baking Flour for the flour, Splenda instead of sugar, light sour cream and soy milk. I baked them 13 minutes, and they were perfectly done. Despite having no oil or butter, they were very moist and had a very nice texture. I'm sure no one would be able to tell they were gluten free. The only thing I would do differently is to spray the paper cupcake liners with Pam because they did stick a little. I'm sure I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
The kids just loved it. I did not have xanthan gum so I used slippery elm; changed the sugar for 1 c of honey; and used almond milk. They were very moist and were gone very quickly!!! I cheated for the frosting and used some Nutella-like spread... Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
one word: amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States