Gluten Free Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I was a little concerned when I saw that the color was so light - I expected a darker brown color. BUT, they baked up perfectly! I made cupcakes and they made nice little 'domes' when they baked and they were very moist! So unlike nearly all of the g/f box mixes I've tried. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Loved this recipe! A friend is gluten intolerant, but loves her desserts. This is a wonderful way to give her both. I cooked in as a bundt cake, and served it with a homemade mango frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This cake was delicious! I made it in a bundt & topped it with chocolate butter cream and it was super rich! My friends didn't even notice it was gluten free. It's a little denser and rich than your average cake mix, I likened it to a "cakey-brownie" I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen A.
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This chocolate cake is some of the best chocolate cake I have ever made/tasted. I made it for my boyfriend's daughter's 8th birthday tonight (my son and I are gluten-free and I wanted us to all be able to share the same cake), and everyone at the table raved about how good the cake was. That is really saying a lot, too, because both my boyfriend and his daughter are incredibly picky eaters. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a delicious, moist chocolate cake that will please everybody at the table, whether they're used to eating gluten-free or not. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I didn't care for this. On the other hand, my kids loved it and others at the party said it wasn't a bad flavor or texture. I was looking for a light moist chocolate cake. What I got was a dense spongey cake that seemed way too wet even though I cooked it for longer than the directions suggested. The flavor was off too but that had to have been my flour blend. The sorghum in it was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I was sceptical that mayo and hot water would work but this is delicious. I paired it with simple chocolate whipped cream frosting and served it for valentines dinner. Very rich! My family didnt even know it was GF. I did try some cake without frosting and have to say the GF flour made the cake taste a little off to me so you definitely want to plan on using frosting. Also make sure your flour doesnt already contain baking soda and xantham gum before you add it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Delicious and moist as others have said. My non-GF family prefers it. Cooking time was 35 minutes. As my GF flour already had xanthan gum, I didn't add that ingredient and it came out fine. New to GF so the mayo and no eggs concerned me but fears were unfounded. Superb recipe without exotic GF ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Very good. I used bundt pan, so needed to cook it a little longer. Made the night before, kept in fridge then frosted with homemade chocolate butter cream frosting. Has a cake/brownie texture.....Yum will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ahna
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I tried this cake recipe and was a little disappointed...it rose up really big in the oven then deflated once it cooled down. The xanthum gum makes it really marshmellowey, and gumby. I wasn't a big fan of it. If you like marshmellows you will probably like this cake. The flavor is good but the texture is weird. Probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I was baking this cake for a friend that can't do mayonnaise so I used Greek yogurt Instead. It turned out wonderful! I will defiantly bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States