Gluten Free Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by emma
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I made this cake for a group of friends one who has Celiacs. This cake was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
It was inedible, tasted off and was absolutely disgusting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Antunez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I would suggest letting it sit for about 30 minutes before you bake it, then. Make sure it's not MORE than 1 1/2 c. hot water, and that the mayo is regular, full fat. I generally bake GF goods at 25 degrees less than recommended, and bake them longer. Good luck! Hope your next one turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
After 30 minutes, it's all watery!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I've made this several times now and it never lets us down. My SIL who isn't gluten free loved it so much she wanted me to make it for HER birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I also used a 9x13" pan, and it rose and then deflated when it cooled. it baked for 40 minutes, and was still extremely gooey inside, although around the edges was overdone. The flavor is delicious, but really would have liked a more "cakey" cake. Could there be different baking temps and times when using the different pan? Or possibly different instructions for high altitude?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I was so disappointed! I cut this recipe in half because we only wanted 2 personal sized mini cakes so maybe that was the first problem. I was skeptical of the mayo and light color but pressed on. By the end of the mix it appeared exterely viscous and sticky. But once cooked they looked glorious and fluffy after cooling they deflated like old balloons and the middle were mush even though the toothpick method seemed to come out clean. The parts that were cooked were decent but didnt taste very much like chocolate. Maybe this would have worked better in a bundt pan or in a larger batch but sadly I couldn't make this work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ahna
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I tried this cake recipe and was a little disappointed...it rose up really big in the oven then deflated once it cooled down. The xanthum gum makes it really marshmellowey, and gumby. I wasn't a big fan of it. If you like marshmellows you will probably like this cake. The flavor is good but the texture is weird. Probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I was baking this cake for a friend that can't do mayonnaise so I used Greek yogurt Instead. It turned out wonderful! I will defiantly bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
The binder (xanthan gum) is CRITICALLY important. I was not able to find xanthan gum at the last minute, so we tried another binder, chia seeds. We didn't use enough chia seed, first soaked in water, and like other gluten-free recipes without a binder the consistency will be a problem. So without the xanthan gum, the taste was spot on, the cake was moist, but it didn't hold together well. The guests didn't mind it too much cause it was healthier than other cakes, and we used a cream cheese icing which went really well. Second, pay careful attention to the baking time! We used 30 minutes as a guideline for our first attempt, but with convection ovens the times are shortened, and we could've pulled out the cake at 15-20 minutes with a 9" round pan. Lastly, we used whole mayo, not low-fat with whole ingredients, which we feel helped the moistness of the cake. In any case, we're going to try this again, but next time with actual xanthan gum, and may use more to get more binding. Oh we used trader joe's non-gluten flour, which is Rice based. I'd like to try another non-Wheat flour next time, maybe even oat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States