Gluten-Free Chocolate Cake with Semi-Sweet Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
i found that chilling it b4 serving enhances the flavor. thanks for the great recipe. i did change it to 1.5 t of xanthan gum as another review posted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I tried this recipe for the first time and the cake turned out amazing. I couldn't find sorghum flour at my grocery store so I substituted corn flour instead(I researched what would be a good substitute flour for sorghum) and used the 1.5 teaspoons of xanthan gum as suggested as well. You would never be able to tell this cake is gluten free and I know my friend with Celiac's Disease will be happy to enjoy this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Wow! I have subjected my family to many gf recipies but this has been the best so far. A now family favourite (remember to make the xanthan gum 1 1/2 tsp!!!) Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I used this recipe for a large anniversary cake instead of cupcakes. It was exceptional. The only adjustment I made was using 1 c. sour cream plus 1/4 cup milk instead of buttermilk. Since it was a mixed crowd with gluten sensitive and non-celiacs it needed to be great tasting period. Got raves. the only semi-complaint was that it was rich and somewhat filling (bean flour?) so good, I will use this recipe again and again. Instead of listed frosting, I did a caramel filling w/ dulce de leche frosting; so this rating is for the cake only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Delicious and perfectly rich. Served to whole family at birthday and all loved it. Used my own recipe for frosting. It was even better the 2nd and 3rd day which is rare for GF baked goods. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made this for my boyfriend's birthday and he loved it! Didn't even care that it was gluten-free. I didn't have sorghum flour so I substituted coconut flour. I used 2 circle pans and my recipe of vanilla icing (1/2c shortening, 1/2c soft butter, 1tsp vanilla, 3-4tbs milk, 4 cups powdered sugar) and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I think that I'm a baker... but clearly I'm not. I followed the recipe, subbing GF baking mix for 2/3 of the flour and soaking the rice flour in the buttermilk for a while (things that I'd read about online, having no actual experience in the matter). In the end, the batter was THICK and I was worried. Ended up adding about 1 more cup of buttermilk to some of the cupcakes. What a mistake! Once baked, the original thick batter became perfectly risen, gorgeous cupcakes. The one's that I thinned are sunken in the middle, gummy, an sad looking. All this to say, this is a thick batter, and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I lOVE this recipie!!! You in now way can tell that it is gluten free. Everyone I make it for comments on how good it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I absolutely loved this cake. No one could even tell it was GF!! I did take the others recommendations of lowering the amount of xanthan gum though. Also I sifted the dry ingrediants together then mixed the wet ingrediants in a seperate bowl. I read in another post that the consistancy was that of pudding so instead of using a mixer I used a wisk to mix the wet with the dry and Im pretty sure thats why my cake didnt fall in the middle. It definatly made it nice and fluffy!! I would recommend this to anyone... it was really that good!! I will never buy nasty premade mixes again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I read reviews, and also cut x-gum to 1.5 tsp. I cut the white sugar to 3/4 cup (actually a little less than that) and it was still fine. For the rice flour, I used mostly white rice flour, but a little bit brown rice flour too. And I literally sifted together all the dry ingredients first. I wondered if I should not have used an electric beater, so next time I will try not to beat so much. It went into the pan almost like pudding (I guess it was the x-gum?) and btw the I greased first, then floured it with rice flour, which worked quite well, came out of pan perfectly. I cooked for 30 min because my husband likes dense cakes, so was hoping for an almost brownie like result. I used 2 round pans, and the center did fall A TON, but was SO moist! I didn't tell my husband it was gluten free because he would have been against eating it, but after eating I told him, and he was surprised. for my husband to be surprised, that is HUGE. So now I believe all the reviews that no one knew it was gluten free. Definitely worthy of making for my daughters' parties. And though the ingredients are expensive to buy initially (my first GF baking attempt) I can use it all for awhile (except the buttermilk, I found that at Trader Joe's) and I tried the choc. topping, but was not too thrilled with it, I would use a different topping/frosting next time..... my powered chocolate I used was Nestle, but best used by date was almost a year ago; I still used it, and came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States