Gluten-Free Chocolate Cake with Semi-Sweet Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made cake pops with this cake recipe for my friend who is allergic to wheat and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Where do I begin???? This cake is stupid-good! I'm gluten intolerant, but my husband is not. He insisted that I make him a birthday cake that I could eat and he loves chocolate. I was hesitant to try this - even after the other great reviews - but soooo glad I did. I made a couple of additions, but the only changes I made to the cake recipe was to use 1 1/2 teaspoons of the xanthan gum as other reviewers pointed out. I used the best cocoa - Callebut - I could find. Trust me on this one, the brand of cocoa you use makes a lot of difference. I added a raspberry sauce filling between the layers and iced it with a simple cocoa whipped cream and garnished with fresh raspberries. It was the best chocolate cake we have ever had. An FYI to those baking this for the first time, TRUST the recipe! The batter seems too thick, gummy and gloppy (for lack of a better word) when you mix it and add it to your baking pans (I used two 9" rounds) and is hard to spread around the pans, but it bakes up perfectly. Thank you Gluten Free Mommy, this recipe is a treasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I made cupcakes instead of a 9x13. The cupcakes were great, but the icing wasn't the best... I think the sour cream made it too sour or something just didn't mix right, I ended up making another chocolate icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Loved this recipe!!! I doubled it and made a Birthday cake. Tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
1 1/2 tablespoons xanthan gum? I think this is way to much ...I followed the recipie to the letter and it turned out like a brownie cake. not so good either it fell right away. It was expensive to make and it did not turn out good at all. I cook a lot but I am new at gluten free cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I used this recipe to make cupcakes and they were fantastic. I only had brown rice flour (usually baking calls for white rice flour) but they still turned out great. I also reduced the xanthan gum to 1 1/2 tsp. as someone suggested. They rise a lot so I would go with about 1/3 third full for cupcakes or they spill over the top too much. I baked them for 18 minutes.Instead of the frosting I used one reviewers idea to add some caramel sauce to the top. On top of that I added some home made chocolate ganache. I put a pecan on top of that. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
These are really fantastic cupcakes! This was my first time in a long time baking gluten-free and I was very surprised. I did use the teaspoon portion of xanthan gum instead. I also used butter cream icing, which I think matches the taste of the cupcakes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Pretty awesome cake... endless possibilities... I followed along with reducing the amt of xanthan gum using 1 tspn, for rice flower I used brown rice flower, instead of buttermilk I used coconut milk (from the dairy dept), light brown sugar in place of dark brown. For the cocoa I used ghirardelli natural unsweetened. I made a two layer chocolate cake and about 12 mini bundt cakes. I made a chocolate ganache in place of icing. heavy cream, chocolate chips, organic coconut, pure bourdon van extract if I were going to give this to kids I would have used regular vanilla extract. My cake consistency was like pudding with these ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valleyr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stony Point, New York, USA
Living In: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Came out great! the icing i goofed up, but thats my fault. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
A gluten-free cake that everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States