Gluten-Free Chocolate Cake with Semi-Sweet Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
XANTHAN should be 1 1/2 TEASPOONS NOT TBSP! With that change the recipe is outstanding. My gluten eating family remembers this cake and just asked that I make it again. Very moist and delicious. I just made a simple buttercream for the frosting, because that's my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QHHUNTERS
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I only made the cupcakes, not the frosting. I bake for a local farmers market and this cupcake with a vanilla butter cream frosting is a favorite. The Xanthan Gum amount I use is 1 1/2 tsp NOT TBSP. I also use Hersey's Special Dark Cocoa and milk soured with white vinegar. Moist, light & delicious! Next time I make them for the market I will photograph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was very good:) I did make a few changes...I used millet flour, brown rice flour, and tapioca flour in equal parts. In place of xanthan gum, I used ground flax/chia combo. I used 1/2 c butter and 1/4 c coconut oil. For the sugar, I used 3/4 cup raw sugar and 1 c sucanat. Instead of the buttermilk, which I had none of, I used 1 cup sour cream with 1/4 c milk- which another reviewer mentioned. I made a fluffy peanut butter frosting with it- my husband loved it, me, not so much. Will definitely make the cake again, but will choose a different frosting. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
My daughter can't eat gluten so I make a lot of gluten free items. I made these for a going away party for someone at work who is also gluten free. They are Awesome! Everyone ate them and loved them. Lucky for my daughter she was also home at the same time and gave them rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I will try this with a pre-mixed flour and see if it will solve the sinking in the middle problem. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
The only thing I changed (other than adjusting the amount of xanthan gum to tsp from TB) is substituting coconut flour for sorghum, because I ran out. The texture of this cake is fantastic, light, fluffy but moist,however I found it was lacking in flavour. If I am going to eat chocolate cake, I want to eat CHOCOLATE CAKE!! Regardless, this is a recipe I will make again, upping the amount of cocoa (and taking away the same amount in flour to keep the ratios the same), upping the vanilla, and adding some salt. Did not make the icing, so this review is for the cake alone. Always happy to try a real gluten free recipe, meaning one that actually includes the types of flours used!! So thank you, gluten free mommy for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amsuka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I subbed coconut sugar (same ratio) and it turned out great! I also used 1 tsp. of xanthan gum as suggested by the other comments. I didn't make the icing (used SMBC instead). I have tried about 7 other gluten-free chocolate cake recipes, and this one was BY far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Wonderful!!! I have tried so many GF cake recipes and these are the best by far! Moist, delicious, real cupcake goodness. Our GF family thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I was definitely not impressed with this cake. It fell in the middle and I thought it was super bland. If I ever make it again (which I probably won't) I would add 1/2 teaspoon of salt to the batter and cut back the xanthum gum to 1 tsp. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used 1 1/2 tsp xanthum gum instead of the tablespoon that was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin MaLoon Rowley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This was my first time baking anything gluten free. I made cupcakes with this recipe and they came out absolutely delicious! I did note that many many reviewers said that the recipe should read 1&1/2 teaspoons xanthan gum, not Tablespoons, so I adjusted accordingly. These cupcakes came out moist and fluffy and very very flavorful. Unless you tell someone they are, no one will know they are GF. I did not use the icing included with this recipe, but all the same, this recipe is a keeper I am bringing my cupcakes to a going away party tomorrow where the guest of honor is GF. She is going to love them! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Baity

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harvard, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States