Gluten-Free Cheese and Herb Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Good crust, would leave out the oregano next time, to see if i like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixponies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great pizza crust recipe. One of the better ones I have tried. I also used white rice flour instead of the bean flour. A lot of people do like bean flour. However, I don't care for the beany taste in my food inless I'm eating Indian food. Anywhoo- for the people who are going to try this remember the dough is more like a batter so spread it. Do not add more gf flour it will weigh more like a brick and chew like one too=) If you are having problems spreading it use a little water on your spatula or fingers that should help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Because it states "leaving the edge slightly thicker than the center", I assumed that it should be thicker than the drizzly form that resulted from following the recipe. In order to get it to the point that it could be thicker on the edge, I had to add a lot of GF all purpose flour. Even then, it was very difficult to pile it up on the edge. The flavor was great, but the consistency was not. I hadn't read the other comments before making it. Now, I shall simply follow the recipe and forget about the edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Fantastic!! As my husband and I are trying healthier recipes, we were a little sceptical about trying this... it was fantastic!! We don't put the cheese in only because I'm not a fan, and it's still amazing. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Nice recipe. I am a little bit intimidated by GF recipes as they often have a lot of ingredients that I do not keep on hand and seem complicated to make. This was really pretty easy and turned out really good. I followed the suggestion to use rice flour because it was what I had on hand and it worked well. My husband has recently given up gluten and he loves pizza. We made an extra recipe and froze some of the smaller crusts as well. Another good way to help him stay healthy and not feel like he is missing out too much! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This crust is amazing! My 5 year old loved it. I took a taste myself and was very happy with the results. If you are new to gluten free baking, please note that this crust will NOT be anything like the same consistency of a wheat pizza crust. As other reviewers have said, it is very gooey. Don't worry though, because once it is baked, it comes out perfect. You can't roll this out with a roller. You have to use your hand to spread it out into the size and shape you want on the cookie sheet. I took another reviewers advise and put it on parchment paper when I baked them, and they just slid right off when they were done...perfect. I made 5 small crusts for my kiddo. I baked them for 15 minutes, let them cool, then froze the remaining 4 in a gallon bag with parchment paper between them to prevent them from sticking together. You definitely want it to bake for ~ 15 minutes before putting the toppings on. My son is allergic to wheat, dairy, and eggs (among other things) so I had to modify the recipe a bit. I just didn't put any kind of cheese in it and it came out fine. In place of the egg, I used my old standby of 1 Tbsp of flaxmeal to 3 Tbsp of warm water (this needs to thicken for ~15 minutes before using). Another option for the egg is Ener-g egg replacer. This is the first time I have made him pizza crusts and I will continue to do so from now on. No more store bought crusts for him. This recipe is soooo much better. I think any wheat eating person will eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great! Kids loved it! We loved it! I was skeptical when I saw the texture before baking, but persisted as I remembered the comments from this blog. SO glad I did! We'll probably make pizza weekly now, at the behest of a very happy gluten-intolerant 4 year-old :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I recently tried this recipe; it had a wonderful outcome. I eat gluten free and I am close to someone with a mild form of autism, which also requires a gluten free diet. Both of us enjoyed this very much. There were a few tweaks here and there, but mostly for preferred taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Harrisson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good recipe. I used rice flour instead of garbanzo bean flour. I'm not a big fan of the garbanzo flour's nutty flavor and grittiness. Also skipped the sugar in the wet mixture because I was afraid it would be too sweet for our tastes. My 7 year old said it was the best GF pizza I've made so far. I used parchment paper on the pan to avoid sticking and only baked at 420 (per needs of paper). Worked great! Note to the cook who said the dough was gooey. GF doughs aren't like other bread doughs. They can't usually be kneaded and their consistency is usually between cake batter and cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Important to note that the batter is much like pancake batter. Spread it around as such and pre-bake. Comes out great - all the kids asked for more cheese pizza and no one guessed it was gluten-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sidhe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

Easier than most gluten-free recipes, and as tasty and crispy as any pizza crust.

Chef John’s Cauliflower Pizza Crust

See how to turn cauliflower into tasty, gluten-free pizza crust.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States