Gluten Free Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is a good basic recipe that can be adjusted easily to taste. I used Bette Hagman's GF flour mix with 2 tsp of guar gum added in. Because of the reviews saying it was bland I followed advice and added the spices; never met a banana bread without spices (1 tsp cinnamon, pinch nutmeg, and pinch cardamom) and I went for the full teaspoon of salt. I was looking for something to satisfy the sweet tooth and used 3/4 cup of sugar (no maple syrup). 5 bananas were plenty. I used the muffin option, filled those cups to full and baked at 350 for 1/2 hour. It made 18 muffins instead of the 24. I never met a banana bread loaf that took less than an hour, so be sure and make that adjustment if making the loaf. Turned out super tasty with myself and two kids as the reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Excellent recipe, tastes just like regular banana bread! I omitted the maple syrup and added walnuts and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Amazing! I halved the recipe just in case and I wish I made the whole thing. Will make these again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I have mixed feelings about this recipe. On one hand, I am new to the world of GF recipes so I think my taste buds are still adjusting. That being said, bland is bland, gluten free or not. I added a little vanilla and a dash of cinnamon, but I think it needed more. The all purpose GF flour I used suggested using xanthan gum, so I did. Maybe next time I'll try without, but honestly, the texture was fine. I will make these again, maybe next time with a different flour, a little more vanilla and cinnamon, and using super over-ripened bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Excellent! Made a couple changes by replacing applesauce instead of the butter (since I am also dairy free), added chopped walnuts and a dash of vanilla. Baked the muffins for 30 minutes. Turned out great!!! My husband loved them and he is not gluten / dairy free. Very Moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Well first of, I had to bake it for a full hour and a half. I think the recipe as written sounds kinda bland, so I added 1 tsp. of vanilla, and 2tsp. of cinnamon. The flavor is good, but honestly I think it could use a full cup of sugar. I will try that next time. I will make it again, but clearly it won't be the same recipe. Not that there is anything wrong with being healthy, I am a nutrition major, but you will need to add more sugar if you hope it will taste like its gluten filled counterpart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin MaLoon Rowley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I mix up my gluten free flours, 1 cup white rice, 1/4 cup almond meal, 1/2 cup ground oats, 1/4 cup flaxseed flour......I add 1 TBL molasses and cut the turbinado to 1/4 cup. The result is a rich tasty great textured bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This doesn't taste gluten free! Excellent moist texture! I only had five medium bananas. I used a mini loaf pan, and had to bake for 45 minutes. after the second round, I gave it a tbsp of cinnamon. We love it with peanut butter on it as a snack. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This is a really good recipe!! I am new to the gf world, so went off of others suggestions: used rice flour instead and added some nutmeg, cinnamon and chocolate chips. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Good recipe. I cut the sugar back to 1/3 cup. I also used Earth's Balance natural buttery spread in order to make it dairy free. If you need a good gluten-free flour blend recipe, check out http://www.naturalcookingrecipes.com/gluten-free-flour-blend-recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States