Gluten Free Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
It just didn't turn out at all for me. It was greasy with butter and too moist. The only changes I made was adding a few spoonfuls of applesauce because I was short 1 banana. I'm a veteran gluten-free baker and I've made several other gluten-free banana bread recipes that have turned out so much better - I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I tried the vegan version of this recipe, and the muffins were completely inedible. Baked much longer than recipe stated, but texture was very dense and still gummy. I think 8 bananas is probably way too many. Very dissappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I made this today and it was amazing. I made a few alterations. I used half almond and have GF oat flour. For the banana's I only had two so I blended in 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and 3 apricots. I have to admit this was the best banana bread I have ever eaten hands down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Good, especially for gluten free but I always sub vegetable oil for the butter as it makes a more moist, soft bread. After the loaves are cooled, wrap in plastic wrap before eating at least overnight to improve flavor and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Smooshy uncooked center. I used muffin tins and cooked the recipe for 45 minutes longer trying to save the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great GF recipe! Like others, I did make minor adjustments: I used Earth Balance Coconut Spread as a replacement for the butter to make it dairy-free, I also added 1/2 teaspoon of xantham gum, 1 teaspoon of baking soda, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and used 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce in place of the sugar. The texture is wonderful - not crumbly or rubbery as some gluten-free products tend to be. The muffins rose nicely and were moist and very delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
It took longer to bake than stated in the recipe. I cut into slices put on a cookie sheet and baked until it toasted. This bread tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea Brabant- Grulke
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I just made these because I had a bunch of bananas that were turning faster then eaten. I can't eat much wheat or flour products it makes me sick afterwards. I used my gluten flour and baked these as muffins, figuring the kids could eat these for breakfast. I added some walnuts in it. Baked for 15-20 minutes. These came out great! My kids tasted them and loved them! I will make these again. Quick easy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stefanie
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Absolutely delicious! So easy. I followed the instructions exactly and just added chocolate chips. I was able to make one loaf & 6 muffins out of just one batch. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I did exactly what the recipe asked for except we have a maple allergy so we used honey instead and it was barely okay in taste and texture. Slightly dry and bland actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States