Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I'm not a fan of red wine and so I used blush. I have also used white wine and it has come out great. I also add 1 Tbls lemon juice, 2 sticks of cinnamon and no water. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I've been looking for a recipe for this since I left Austria! I went there in 1996 to visit my friends who live in Vienna, and I had this in Krungel (a town where Badmitterndorf ski school is located) and it was great after skiing all day! Thanks and we enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Very tasty and the wine is quite a bit stronger than you might expect! My family loved it on a cold December night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
WOWEE! This is good stuff! We had this on Christmas and on New Year's Eve and it was a hit both times. We used merlot and it turned out great. The only thing is that I could never get it to the syrupy stage so we just added the wine after simmering awhile. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharms70

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Absolutely great recipe for the traditional German Gluehwein! I served this just yesterday (12/20/03) and everyone loved it. I did add just a little orange juice, just because I used very strong homemade wine! Thank you for this recipe...will use it again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I'm not German, and have never heard of this drink before. But, just by looking at the ingredients I knew it would be yummy. Sure, enough...I made it for all of my friends and now they're all asking me for the recipe! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I normally am not a wine drinker, but I was having guests for Christmas, one of whom is of German ancestry (my brother-in-law), and I wanted to serve something a little differentand special. This was a big hit; even I loved it. The only thing I changed in the recipe was that I substituted orange juice for the water. My brother-in-law commented that it tasted just like his late mother's recipe. Quite a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
This recipe is definately one to keep! We thoroughly enjoyed it after being out in the cold working all day! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
As someone who lives in Germany, this is the biggest holiday hit you can find! It is available everywhere in towns and the popular christmas markets and this is exactly how to make it. Although, I wouldn't add the water, but instead substitute orange juice to give it more of a zest. Drink it while it's hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States