Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was incredible! I left it on low heat for about an hour to keep it warm and it reduced down a bit to a sweet, spicy, rich nectar. So my mistake made it even better! I'm making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Adams Katchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I prefer white wines over reds but decided to try this after tasting a "Christmas Wine" at a local winery. This tasted better than what they served! My husband asked me to make sure that I double the recipe the next time and to please have some when his mom comes over for Christmas dinner! I'll be serving plenty of this... It's gonna be a very Merry Christmas! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2trips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
this is simple and makes brilliant Gluehwein
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Yum! We live in Belgium and have been going to all the Christmas markets here, Germany, and Holland. Our favorite part of the markets is drinking the different Gluehweins. I'm so happy you posted this recipe!! Used orange juice instead of the water and it was wonderful!! Will become a winter staple in our house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
very good...can't wait for real cold weather and make this and drink it while walking down the streets with nicely lit christmas docoration...get a bit of European atmoshere if drinking in the freezing cold in a christmas atmosphere...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Yummmmmy!!! I added a little apple cider.....unbelievably delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhittheCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
No need to buy mulling spices with this recipe (seriously, I picked up some mulling spices at the store and realized that the ingredients on the package were the same as the ingredients for this recipe). This was soooo good! The only thing I changed was the amount of sugar, I used 1/2 a cup instead of 3/4. I also tried this with apple cider and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Fantastic! I used orange juice in place of water and reduced the sugar to about a 1/2 cup. I used 4 cinnamon sticks and even added a few dashes of ground cinnamon toward the end. Often, I like to add a few splashes of brandy. It makes it a bit more potent, which is especially nice if your wine got a little too warm and some alcohol evaporated. I've already made this so many times, I had to make sure I put my review in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was a big hit! Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made this on a ski trip with friends. everyone loved it! Nice warm pick me up after a cold day on the slopes. I may try it next time with a little less sugar, seemed a little to sweet to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States