Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Maybe it was just me but there was something about this that I didn't care for. It could have been the brand of wine which I used (Black Opal) but the aroma of the warm wine made it very difficult to drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I have made this several times. I have substituted orange juice for water, an orange juice/pineapple juice mixture & an apple juice/orange juice mixture for the water. On all I used 2 cinnamon sticks instead of 1. Fabulous! I also substituted some of the white sugar with brown sugar. Equally yummy. I also tried it the original way, but added an extra cinnamon stick. It is really good when you get the mixture thick. I used local muscadine wine. No matter how it is fixed, it is hard to beat! A real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Not sure what I did wrong, but this didn't taste as great as I had hoped. A little too sweet and not enough clove/cinnamon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This is amazing! I made a triple recipie of this for a party, using Tropicana orange juice instead of the water, and I reduced the white sugar a bit and added just a little bit of brown sugar. It did not get syrupy, but with that much orange juice I didn't expect it would. I tripled the cinnamon sticks, but still only used 10 cloves, and only one orange. For wine, I used 1 and 1/2 bottles of Sawmill Creek shiraz. I added 2 bottles while it was on the stove, and then kept it warm in the crock pot, adding another 1/2 bottle directly to the crock pot (the full 3 bottles wouldn't fit). The porportions worked out perfectly though. Very yummy, and very cozy drink.... will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Very good, I would use less sugar next time, especially if you enjoy the subtleness/dryness of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
The perfect end to a long cold winters walk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Some friends and I made this, and it came out absolutely superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I wanted this "crockpot" style to stay nice and warm for the duration of the party. Well, just forget that! It was gone within 30 minutes, doubling the recipe just wasn't enough (for 16 people). Everyone raved as they downed this rosy-warm aromatic drink. Have back-ups pre-made. The trick I used with the crockpot was adding 2 inches of water, turning it on high with a lid while the oranges/cloves simmered in the oj mixture (not water) to get it nice & hot. So, instead of adding the wine to the stovetop pot, I dumped everything in the crockpot after the oranges were finished simmering. This worked great but I knew I was in trouble when it only filled it halfway. I used Yellowtail Shiraz/Cabernet as someone else suggested. Too good! Will make as often as I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
a tasty and spicy (and alcoholic) alternative to hot cider. i used orange juice instead of the water and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup on a friend's recommendation--turned out great! as he said, it's pretty hard to screw this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Way too sweet for me, but yummy just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamieq

Displaying results 121-130 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States