Gluehwein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
My Mom is from Germany and hasn't been home in a while. It really made her holiday. She said it was just like home. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
One guest asked if it was potpurri. It does smell wonderful, but too overpowering to drink - maybe less oranges/cloves would help. While I found it easy to prepare, I give it a low rating due to its unpopularity at parties. Sometimes simpler is better - i.e., red wine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I took other people's suggestions and used orange juice instead of water. I also doubled the recipe and used 1/2 cup of regular sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. It went fast! My guests were asking for more. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
If I could give this recipe more stars, I would. We simmered the sugar, water, OJ, cinnamon and cloves on the stove and then transferred to the crockpot when it was time to add the wine. We started with 2 bottles of Kendall Jackson Pinot Noir, and it was gone within about 15 minutes. We actually had to go to the grocer for three more bottles of Pinot Noir! It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Wonderful. I took the suggestions of many reviewers and substituted orange juice for the water, and think it's a great change. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
What a great recipe! I was skeptical at first about using 3/4 cup white sugar. I thought it would be way too much, but it wasn't. When I sipped the Gluehwein, the sweetness was perfect and all those memories from visiting Christmas markets in Germany came back. Wonderful recipe.....thank you Else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
excellent recipe, very close to the authentic flavor as said by a visiting german friend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Yummy... and the smell is wonderful. I always make this during the Holidays, and everybody loves it (even my husbands sister who thinks alcohol is yucky). This is a staple in our house during the winter months. I usually cut down on the sugar by 1/4 cup, and add and exra 1/4 cup of water. We always buy the cheap wine for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I actually haven't made this recipe, but it's so similar to what my Mom used to make that I will probably be using it for a crowd. I'm familiar with making individual servings, without the water/sugar/orange step. Put some red wine in a saucepan, add some sugar, cinnamon stick, half orange w/ juice and heat. It is soo yummy and warming. Definitely gives you a glow, inside and out! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Perfect for parties or a cold day outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Austin Jacroux

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States