Glossy Royal Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly, highly recommend! It dries to the touch rather quickly, so handling them is easier. Made valentine cookies with my 2 sons and they had a blast. This will be my go-to sugar cookie icing recipe. (I'm not sure it will hold gingerbread houses together, but perfect for sugar cookies.) big success! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Great recipe for cookies without egg whites or merinque powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this last week and even my husband (who isn't an icing/frosting fan) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingWithMegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kingfisher, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Does what it's supposed to do, although as someone else already said, it's not icing but a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
It worked perfectly for my chocolate sugar cookies! I added quite a bit more sugar to make it thicker & the color stand out more. I also used coconut extract (just cuz I love that stuff & it tastes great w/chocolate!) instead & it tastes great!! Good alternative when egg in icing kinda grosses you out & you don't have meringue powder! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Used rum extract, worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
So easy to make. I've made this a couple of times and it's foolproof. Big hit with the almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I really like this recipe. I use lemon extract and the flavor is great. I'm just wondering if anybody has tried freezing the cookies after using this icing. Does it change the flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This was easy to work with and looks good. Dont think the taste is 5 star, but I was really going for a certain look and this was a perfect recipe for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Sorry, but this does not belong in the royal icing category. It is a GLAZE. A very good one...but an icing glaze. And yes it hardens and is shiny, but it is not a royal icing. It has a category of its own. Also it doesn't dry and harden as quickly. It's all I ever used to use....It tastes better than most royal icings and that is a plus. But for fine detail that holds it shape better...the royal icing wins. On taste...the glaze wins hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States