Glossy Royal Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I make this icing every year at Christmas time for my children and I to decorate the gingerbread ornaments we make. I LOVE how it doesn't have egg in and it tastes great. It dries hard like royal icing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I don't care what technical name you want to give this easy, delicious, decorative goo (Royal Icing, Frosting, Glaze, etc)!! It works and tastes great. Taste tons better than the "Original" Royal Icing recipes. My son is severely allergic to Raw Eggs. He is ok as long as the egg is baked in a baked good but any form of raw egg whether pasteurized, dehydrated, etc. Will cause a severe reaction. This recipe is Perfect for everything we wanted to do with our sugar cookies. God Bless you for sharing this life saver recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Keel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
most My family loved it. I didn't. I wanted to make a icing for some sugar cookies i think i added too much almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Wonderful recipe! Easy to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Perfect to ice Holiday cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Added 3x the almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Schonewill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
this is the 3rd year in a row that I have used this recipe for my Christmas cookies, love it, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Yuck! Sure the icing is glossy and hardens nice but what does it taste like? Yuck. I had to dump the whole batch of cookies. The icing tasted like soap with the almond extract. It was way too overpowering and I followed the recipe exactly only adding more powered sugar to thicken it. Grose! Won't do that again. Back to the tried and true Royal Icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TerMel
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
After trying two batches of the glaze that was suggested for the sugar cookies I made and have them both bomb, I'm so glad I found this recipe and tried it. It was perfect! Easy to make, easy to dip my camel shaped cookies into and get the icing where I wanted, and are now beginning to harden just like I wanted!! Next time I'll try a different extract, but didn't want to deviate from the original recipe on my first go. I live in the middle east and we are having U.S. military personnel over for Thanksgiving, these camel cookies are to go in the 'to-go' treat bags when they leave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
As someone else pointed out, this is more of a glaze than royal icing. It tastes delicious but even with added confectioner's sugar it was too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States