Glossy Royal Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Sorry, but this does not belong in the royal icing category. It is a GLAZE. A very good one...but an icing glaze. And yes it hardens and is shiny, but it is not a royal icing. It has a category of its own. Also it doesn't dry and harden as quickly. It's all I ever used to use....It tastes better than most royal icings and that is a plus. But for fine detail that holds it shape better...the royal icing wins. On taste...the glaze wins hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I love that this recipe does not contain egg whites, so I feel better serving it to young kids. I used it to decorate my gingerbread men; I simply scooped the icing into a decorating bag with a plain tip. You can easily change the consistency by adding a little more warm water (thinner) or a little more powdered sugar (thicker). A little goes a long ways! Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
So easy to prepare, and came out perfect...I just made this and the icing is already setting up and hardening nicely. i added orange extract to mine to go with chocolate angel cutouts...great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJameson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I used and really liked this recipe. I subbed 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract for the almond extract due to allergies and it turned out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
It worked perfectly for my chocolate sugar cookies! I added quite a bit more sugar to make it thicker & the color stand out more. I also used coconut extract (just cuz I love that stuff & it tastes great w/chocolate!) instead & it tastes great!! Good alternative when egg in icing kinda grosses you out & you don't have meringue powder! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Flawless recipe - thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Used rum extract, worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Douglas
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
The frosting was great! You can easily adjust the thickness and choose the flavor. The end result is a shiny, flavorful layer on top of your favorite cookie recipe. Bonus! No egg whites either dried or fresh so can be used for children and pregnant women.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Awesome! I love that it has no eggs in it and it hardens very nicely and tastes pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this last week and even my husband (who isn't an icing/frosting fan) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingWithMegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kingfisher, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States