Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Excellent. My great aunt used to make a similar cake, but I never had the opportunity to ask her for the recipe. I used all purpose flour with 1 tbsp of baking soda, 2 capfuls of lemon juice and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Baked at 375 for 45 min. It was a little hard to remove from the pan, but eventually relented. The crust was thick and chewy and the center moist. Great! I made sure to let the cake rest for 30 min after removing it from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This is a great recipe! A friend asked for "something lemony" for his birthday, so I used this recipe and made it into a roulade (jelly roll), and then used Carol's "Lemon Filling" inside it. Everyone said I'd outdone myself. I'm sure it's great as a tube cake, too, and will try that over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Jones
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Great recipe! This recipe was easy to follow and turned out great. I would definitely say using a handmixer (on the highest level) to get the whites to a stiff texture is a must! I kept the lemon extract and did not use a substitute and the cake came out perfect. In fact, to get a heavier lemon flavor, you could even use a tiny bit more. As it was, the cake turned out the perfect consistency, light, flavorful, and visually appealing. I'd use this recipe for a shortcake instead of an angel food cake any day. I also doubled this recipe because I was using a 9x13 rectangle pan. However, it was a little more than I needed so I made a spill-over loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
With the previous reviews being so outstanding I had to try this one. It didn't disappoint in the least. This came out light and fluffy and delicious. This one is a keeper. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I love this recipe. The only change I made was to use lemon juice instead of lemon extract and I cooked it for about 45 minutes. I drizzeled the cake with a simple lemon icing and served it with vanilla ice cream (although I don't think the ice cream was necessary). The flavor and the texture are nice and light and are perfect for a summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This was an excellent recipe. I did not have a lemon so I used 1/2 a package of unsweetened orange drink mix crystals (about 3/4 tsp) and the flavor was outstanding. I also cut the sugar content in half. I baked the batter in a medium loaf tin and then cut the cake lengthwise (after cooling) and added a layer of raspberry jam which was quite complimentary to the orange flavor. Because I didn't use lemon juice, and because I only used half the sugar, I cut down the water content to 2 tbsp and 2 tsp. I also didn't have cake flour so I placed whole wheat flour in a coffee grinder to make a fine cake flour. I also omitted the cream of tartar. I will use this recipe again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I have made this recipe 17 times in the past week and it is so very wonderful. I love it. Thank you, Evelyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Very light, fluffy and lemony. I juiced a lemon instead of using extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by CHRISTYUNT
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
A fantastic recipe. This was my first sponge cake, and I think it came out perfect. (We'll see what the family says tomorrow. I sneaked an early taste!) I used a teaspoon of lemon juice (not the fake stuff), and it gave just a slight lemon taste. Not to overwhelming, just right. The cake is fluffy, beautiful in color, and melt in your mouth delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura-Jane
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Glorious! I'd never made a sponge cake before, so I was worried. I followed the directions to a T and this recipe came out perfectly! I was worried that my cakes would be difficult to get out of the pan, but I just had to slice around the edges and underneath, and they held their shape perfectly. So easy, and I'm a first-timer! (I also used Carol's "Lemon Filling" and topped the cake with strawberries. Divine combination!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States