Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Fabulous!!!!! I just made this recipe. I did not have cake flour or lemon ingredients so I used all purpose flour 1 cup, 1 tbsp baking powder.For the lemon I used 1 tsp almond extract. I was looking for a sponge cake like the stores have. This is wonderful. I will try it with the lemon next time but they are great. I didnt even need sugar on my strawberries. The other thing I did was cooked them in a muffin pan for 20 min. Then used a small press from pampered chef to push the center down so that they were more like the stores. They are perfect. I will keep this in my recipe box and make again and again. Thank you for the recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Great recipe with just the right proportions if using lemon juice. The cake came out nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Very simple, easy recipe with consistant results. The lemon flavor is VERY SUBTLE, so I made a quick glaze with lemon juice and powdered sugar to drizzle on cake. Mine was cooked after 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Wonderful,easy recipe! This will be the second time I make it. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Gillette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I wasn't terribly pleased with this cake. It was just "ok". It was a bit rubbery to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
perfect for the "twinkie" cake my husband wanted for his birthday (don't ask...) i layered with buttercream frosting between two rounds and it was a HUGE hit with adults and kids alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
it was ok...the texture was way too thick, it felt like chewing sponge at some points, but the flavor was alright. I used the Lemon Filling on this site and it definitely improved the cake over all. I will try this again with 5 eggs though, and some baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lumikuu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
The texture of this sponge turned out wonderfully. Loved the lemony flavor. I used two tart pans instead of a tube pan, and topped it with a thin layer of whipped cream and fresh fruit for Christmas dinner (having been asked to bring a "healthy" dessert, LOL). Everyone thought it was very "elegant". And best of all, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this last night and it was a hit! My family dug in like no tomorrow. I changed tweaked the recipe a bit. Instead of lemon rind and water, I added two-three extra tbps of lemon juice. It had a faint lemony taste. Overall, simple and delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nuntiya
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Taste good but the texture was not as light as I expected. Maybe if I used cake flour (not all purpose flour), the cake may be lighter. I baked 45 min as many reviews suggested. turn out nice. For the topping, I put in jelly-liked cover with orange / grapefruit meat. I think it goes well with the sponge. Here is the recipe for topping. Water 300 g Concentrated orange juice 50 g Sugar 100 g Corn starch 20 g Butter 20 g Put everything, except butter, in the sauce pan on miduim/low heat. Stir constantly until thickened around 5-10 min (or until syrup-liked texture). Off from heat and stir in butter. Stir frequently while you lay orange meat on top of cake. Gradually pour/spoon in mixture over the cake. Let it set at room temp or in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuntiya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States