Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Excellent. My great aunt used to make a similar cake, but I never had the opportunity to ask her for the recipe. I used all purpose flour with 1 tbsp of baking soda, 2 capfuls of lemon juice and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Baked at 375 for 45 min. It was a little hard to remove from the pan, but eventually relented. The crust was thick and chewy and the center moist. Great! I made sure to let the cake rest for 30 min after removing it from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Jones
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Great recipe! This recipe was easy to follow and turned out great. I would definitely say using a handmixer (on the highest level) to get the whites to a stiff texture is a must! I kept the lemon extract and did not use a substitute and the cake came out perfect. In fact, to get a heavier lemon flavor, you could even use a tiny bit more. As it was, the cake turned out the perfect consistency, light, flavorful, and visually appealing. I'd use this recipe for a shortcake instead of an angel food cake any day. I also doubled this recipe because I was using a 9x13 rectangle pan. However, it was a little more than I needed so I made a spill-over loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This was an excellent recipe. I did not have a lemon so I used 1/2 a package of unsweetened orange drink mix crystals (about 3/4 tsp) and the flavor was outstanding. I also cut the sugar content in half. I baked the batter in a medium loaf tin and then cut the cake lengthwise (after cooling) and added a layer of raspberry jam which was quite complimentary to the orange flavor. Because I didn't use lemon juice, and because I only used half the sugar, I cut down the water content to 2 tbsp and 2 tsp. I also didn't have cake flour so I placed whole wheat flour in a coffee grinder to make a fine cake flour. I also omitted the cream of tartar. I will use this recipe again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This is a great recipe! A friend asked for "something lemony" for his birthday, so I used this recipe and made it into a roulade (jelly roll), and then used Carol's "Lemon Filling" inside it. Everyone said I'd outdone myself. I'm sure it's great as a tube cake, too, and will try that over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I have made this recipe 17 times in the past week and it is so very wonderful. I love it. Thank you, Evelyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Very light, fluffy and lemony. I juiced a lemon instead of using extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I love this recipe. The only change I made was to use lemon juice instead of lemon extract and I cooked it for about 45 minutes. I drizzeled the cake with a simple lemon icing and served it with vanilla ice cream (although I don't think the ice cream was necessary). The flavor and the texture are nice and light and are perfect for a summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
With the previous reviews being so outstanding I had to try this one. It didn't disappoint in the least. This came out light and fluffy and delicious. This one is a keeper. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Photo by CHRISTYUNT
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
A fantastic recipe. This was my first sponge cake, and I think it came out perfect. (We'll see what the family says tomorrow. I sneaked an early taste!) I used a teaspoon of lemon juice (not the fake stuff), and it gave just a slight lemon taste. Not to overwhelming, just right. The cake is fluffy, beautiful in color, and melt in your mouth delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura-Jane
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Glorious! I'd never made a sponge cake before, so I was worried. I followed the directions to a T and this recipe came out perfectly! I was worried that my cakes would be difficult to get out of the pan, but I just had to slice around the edges and underneath, and they held their shape perfectly. So easy, and I'm a first-timer! (I also used Carol's "Lemon Filling" and topped the cake with strawberries. Divine combination!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States