Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Overall, this was pretty good. It was a nice dessert. However i didn't find it had that 'fresh cake' taste that most cakes normally do. It also wasn't as soft as other sponge cakes I've had. I had wanted something lighter, but instead I got a cake that literally tasted like a sponge. Although I still enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ewilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Time consuming, but well worth the work. It made a great anniversary cake for my inlaws. I filled it with raspberry jam after patting with amaretto. I covered it with Butter Cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Even tho this didn't turn out right for me, i'm going to try again bc it tasted like it would have. So bakers be ware...don't use large eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cajoeen
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Glorious is the right word!! if only i could give 6 stars.. The best cake i ever made. Though i was a bit hesitant by the no-greased pan. I admit getting the cake out took some effort (specially since i don't have non-stick bundt pan) but it was well worth it. Make sure you don't overcook it or it'll stick to your pan. I used 10inch bundt pan and it only took 40mnts at 165. Just make sure that you beat the yolk till lemon color and thick, and beat the whites till stiff. And fold carefully (i add the flour to the yolk first, add 1/3 of the whites to the yolk and add the yolk mix to the remaining white. I know it's a pain but it does make a difference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cajoeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
i was a little scared making this recipe at first since i didn't know what "stiff peaks" and "folding" was, but with a little googling, i decided to try it out since my hubby wanted to eat sponge cake! to those who said that their cake stuck to their pan, this is because your cake was overcooked! I know this for a reason because my oven was being stupid and half of my cake ended up overcooked and the other half perfect. The perfect side came out of the pan easy breezy while the overcooked side took a lot of scraping... I did substitute the lemon flavour with 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp of almond extract and baked for only 45 minutes. next time, i'll probably only use vanilla extract since hubby found the almond flavor to be too strong. overall, fantastic recipe, will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
wonderful cake just perfect. it hit the spot well with me and my family. definately a 5, but the strawberries i picked were really sour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Lovely cake, this recipe is def. a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Good. I made with 1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 almond extract instead of the lemon and it had a good flavor. I used an angel food cake tube pan (with the removeable bottom) and had no problem with sticking. I only cooked it for 40 minutes at 325, maybe those that stuck were overcooked? Needed to invert it for 25 minutes. Frosted it with strawberry marshmallow frosting (but used cherry) from this site. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colebrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I have the exact recipe in a favorite Italian cook book of mine! It's excellent and can be adapted in many ways. My favorite is to eliminate the lemon zest and lemon extract in exchange for 1/2 tsp. almond extract. While the cake is baking, I make a simple syrup and add sliced berries (strawberries usually) the juice of an orange and enough cold water/corn starch to thicken. Once the berries break down, I serve this sauce over my cake. For those of you in question whether or not you grease the pan and claim to be expert cooks: shame on those of you who question this! *LOL* No sponge cake or angel food cake should ever be baked in a greased pan; it won't rise like it should otherwise! Invert your pan over a bottle, allow the cake to completely cool, then run a sharp knife around the edges and the middle part of the pan, then gently stick a finger down the side of the cake and loosen the bottom, working gently and carefully. Excellent cake, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This cake was awful. It was barely lemony at all, and the texture was like eating a mouthful of lint. I know it's a sponge cake (I'll admit sponge is not my favorite, but I was looking for something light), but this literally felt like we were eating a sponge. I added a lemon glaze after eating one piece. That made it a bit better, but all in all I would never make this cake again. I am a very experienced cake maker, and this was my worst-tasting cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.H. West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States