Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Wonderful,easy recipe! This will be the second time I make it. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I wasn't terribly pleased with this cake. It was just "ok". It was a bit rubbery to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
perfect for the "twinkie" cake my husband wanted for his birthday (don't ask...) i layered with buttercream frosting between two rounds and it was a HUGE hit with adults and kids alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
it was ok...the texture was way too thick, it felt like chewing sponge at some points, but the flavor was alright. I used the Lemon Filling on this site and it definitely improved the cake over all. I will try this again with 5 eggs though, and some baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lumikuu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
The texture of this sponge turned out wonderfully. Loved the lemony flavor. I used two tart pans instead of a tube pan, and topped it with a thin layer of whipped cream and fresh fruit for Christmas dinner (having been asked to bring a "healthy" dessert, LOL). Everyone thought it was very "elegant". And best of all, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this last night and it was a hit! My family dug in like no tomorrow. I changed tweaked the recipe a bit. Instead of lemon rind and water, I added two-three extra tbps of lemon juice. It had a faint lemony taste. Overall, simple and delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nuntiya
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Taste good but the texture was not as light as I expected. Maybe if I used cake flour (not all purpose flour), the cake may be lighter. I baked 45 min as many reviews suggested. turn out nice. For the topping, I put in jelly-liked cover with orange / grapefruit meat. I think it goes well with the sponge. Here is the recipe for topping. Water 300 g Concentrated orange juice 50 g Sugar 100 g Corn starch 20 g Butter 20 g Put everything, except butter, in the sauce pan on miduim/low heat. Stir constantly until thickened around 5-10 min (or until syrup-liked texture). Off from heat and stir in butter. Stir frequently while you lay orange meat on top of cake. Gradually pour/spoon in mixture over the cake. Let it set at room temp or in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuntiya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Overall, this was pretty good. It was a nice dessert. However i didn't find it had that 'fresh cake' taste that most cakes normally do. It also wasn't as soft as other sponge cakes I've had. I had wanted something lighter, but instead I got a cake that literally tasted like a sponge. Although I still enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ewilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Time consuming, but well worth the work. It made a great anniversary cake for my inlaws. I filled it with raspberry jam after patting with amaretto. I covered it with Butter Cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Even tho this didn't turn out right for me, i'm going to try again bc it tasted like it would have. So bakers be ware...don't use large eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States