Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This is a really good spongecake! Mine got stuck so maybe I'll grease the pan next time... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I love this! Nice, lighter cake that I have made several times. I skip the lemon extract and such, and just use vanilla and it's always fantastic! Last time, I frosted it with buttercream frosting from this site (Rick's Buttercream Frosting). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Wonderful classic sponge cake but not with lemon extract. Really does not need it with the lemon rind. Makes a great base for so many things, e.g. strawberries, blueberries, trifle or just by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
My family LOVED this cake! I made it for the 4th of July as a base for the "Berry Tiramisu Cake" on this site. We loved the cake so much, I'm making it again without the berries and everything on it! The lemon flavor is just right! Makes a light cake great for summer desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Nice and airy and light. Very absorbent. I used it for tiramisu and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly. Cake stuck to the 'ungreased' pan (last time I'll make that mistake). It was more dense than I'd wanted, I was expecting a light, airy cake. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Fabulous!!!!! I just made this recipe. I did not have cake flour or lemon ingredients so I used all purpose flour 1 cup, 1 tbsp baking powder.For the lemon I used 1 tsp almond extract. I was looking for a sponge cake like the stores have. This is wonderful. I will try it with the lemon next time but they are great. I didnt even need sugar on my strawberries. The other thing I did was cooked them in a muffin pan for 20 min. Then used a small press from pampered chef to push the center down so that they were more like the stores. They are perfect. I will keep this in my recipe box and make again and again. Thank you for the recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Great recipe with just the right proportions if using lemon juice. The cake came out nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Very simple, easy recipe with consistant results. The lemon flavor is VERY SUBTLE, so I made a quick glaze with lemon juice and powdered sugar to drizzle on cake. Mine was cooked after 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Wonderful,easy recipe! This will be the second time I make it. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States