Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
very good...and moist..only took 45 min in my oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I did use this recipe to make home-made Twinkie™-like filled pastry... and this didn't give me any heartburn like its name-sake. I filled them with various fillings such as a wonderful ganache with butter-crunch cookies, vanilla-bean pastry cream filling, and almond schmear. I was in heaven!!! Because I was planning to use other flavors, I only used Mexican vanilla as my flavor base. This recipe is a keeper!!! And no -- I'm NOT sharing. They can make their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Borderbumble

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This cake turned out very dry. Maybe sponge cake is supposed to be dry? I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is a very nice recipe. Used it for a Jelly Roll came out very good. I will Def. make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made this in time for my birthday for my family. First time I attempted to make a sponge cake! I halved the recipe and made about 10 cupcakes with this. Baked at 325 degrees for 35 min. The cake itself was just-right in sweetness so I didn't need frosting. I cut each cupcake in half and spread berry-flavored Chobani (kiddie version that is whipped) with some jam in the middle, sprinkled some powdered sugar on top, and served it. Deelish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkyumi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Great cake. Very light and moist. I only baked mine for 45 minutes at 325 and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katarina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Oh dear dont know what went wrong....but I ended up with a frisbee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I don't know what went wrong. Only the top half was edible. I must have not whipped my eggwhites enough or used too much flour...the bottom half of the cake was like rubber. I used 2 tsp. of fresh lemon juice instead of the extract according to another review. Any other ideas of why it flopped????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I literally made 5 sponge cakes to decide which one to use in my trifles. This one was the winner. Don't change a thing. It's divine. Not too eggy, light and fluffy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
it is glorious. I used half water, half fresh lime juice and added the zest of that lime. I then used it to make a raspberry trifle, it was wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States