Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Wayyy too sweet.This just didn't work for me and I followed the instructions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vashanti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I used vanilla extract instead of lemon extract and my cake came out fine. I also only needed to keep it in the oven for 40 minutes. Next time, I'll spray the cake with simple syrup to give it some moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I made this recipe twice. The first try I did NOT use "cake flour" or have tube pan! The 2nd try I used both cake flour & tube pan, both times it did not turn out. It did not rise at all, very disappointed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
looks, smells and tastes good. I made it straight vanilla instead of lemon. Good base cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This recipe cooked up very nicely but tasted way too eggy for me. Will not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I have used this recipe a billion times and have never been dissapointed! I always take out the lemon extract and replace it with vanilla, also I take out the zest completely! Holds up extremely well when carved, frosted, and cut and has a great texture and taste! I have never baked it for the full time and it has never been over/under done!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
absolutely de Licious!!!!!!!!!!!! just one thing, an hour baking time was too long for my oven. i took it out when the timer read 45 min. but when i bake this again, ima stop at 35 min and see. it was disgustingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
very good...and moist..only took 45 min in my oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I did use this recipe to make home-made Twinkie™-like filled pastry... and this didn't give me any heartburn like its name-sake. I filled them with various fillings such as a wonderful ganache with butter-crunch cookies, vanilla-bean pastry cream filling, and almond schmear. I was in heaven!!! Because I was planning to use other flavors, I only used Mexican vanilla as my flavor base. This recipe is a keeper!!! And no -- I'm NOT sharing. They can make their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Borderbumble

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States