Gloria's Sausage Gravy with Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I love this recipe...actually, my mother used to make it all the time and has since passed away. I'm so grateful that I found it here. I realize that it does come out a bit thick, but I add milk as needed to make it come out just right. The "unusual" spices give it a nice twist on something that normally is a bit on the bland side. UPDATE....8/12/2011 although I have for the most part memorized this recipe(Thanks again for submitting Debbie!!) I just can't help but comment on some of the really nasty comments left here. There are plenty of pre-mixed packages of garbage that you simply add water to or if feeling a little daring substitute milk. This recipe can take many different directions that's the beauty of it, and for people who are not family with poultry seasoning, maybe they should become a little more educated in the kitchen before writing such a nasty review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
this recipe is very tasty but the gravy needs to be doubled. It's too thick and it doesn't soak into the biscuits. I used 2 tbsp of flour and 2 cups of milk. I also eliminated the salt altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
very good but as a previous reviewer said please double the amount of milk and as for the flour I used 3 tablespoons.Awesome!! tastes like the stuff I order at restaurants!! even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This was amazing! Just like Resturants, except for more sausage. The gravy came together really fast and easy. I actually cheated and used premade bisuts from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uhall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I used between 3 & 4 cups of milk, & increased the flour amount to 1/4 cup. I was out of nutmeg, so left that out, don't know what difference that would make, but still tasted fantastic!! I also cheated and used biscuits in a can. Made with homemade hashbrowns, and fried eggs. Great Sunday Morning Breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
my husband and sons looove this recipe. It turns out super every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I give this five stars because it is absolutely delicious. I found this recipe because my husband request I make some. I wasnt sure if I would like it, but I love it too! I agree, more sauce is needed, so I usually add more liquid. Also I just use refrigerator biscuits to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouperWoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I did not try this recipe. I meant to review the Bob Evans sausage gravy, which was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
My family loved this recipe. My husband's eyes got big as he took his first bite. He said it was just like the restaurant's version. Other viewers are correct in leaving the sausage and doubling(tripling even!) the rest of the ingredients. The gravy would be great to make ahead and have on hand to ease the rush in the morning. (I cheated and made frozen biscuits and it was still fantastic.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Don't let the nutmeg scare you away from this recipe. It adds a richness and flavor that no one will be able to put their finger on. I substitued Hot pork sausage for the sage. I left out the dash of hot sauce put added a 1/4 tsp of rubbed sage. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Bird
Home Town: Teton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sidney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States