Gloria's Sausage Gravy with Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I agree with BABIDOLL02 in the first review. This is not gravy. Nor are these biscuits. I could not believe the long list of useless ingredients I was looking at. It actually got me so curious I just had to try it. I followed the recipe for both the biscuits and the gravy to the letter. Measured everything (which I rarely do anymore). I must say this turned out to be exactly like so concoction my mother would have made when I was a kid. What is the point of the poultry seasoning? What is poultry seasoning? And the nutmeg! Why am I putting "Nutmeg" in my sausage gravy? Let's not forget the biscuits, or were they rolls? If you simply get rid of the yeast and butter your looking at buttermilk biscuits that take about five minutes prep time and 10 minutes in the oven. I don't want to wait 2 1/2 hours for my B&G in the morning! If you really want a decent gravy in the morning try "Bob Evans Sausage Gravy" on this site. It has great reviews and too simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I agree with the other reviewers that this does come out way too thick. Will keep my other recipe going, although thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
this recipe is very tasty but the gravy needs to be doubled. It's too thick and it doesn't soak into the biscuits. I used 2 tbsp of flour and 2 cups of milk. I also eliminated the salt altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
very good but as a previous reviewer said please double the amount of milk and as for the flour I used 3 tablespoons.Awesome!! tastes like the stuff I order at restaurants!! even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
The chicken seasoning, hot sauce and Worcestershire really gave it a great flavor! One of the reviewers was crazy for wondering why they should put it in, I think it's the best I've made in quite some time! I didn't add the nutmeg and added only a teaspoon or so of chopped onions from the spice rack and adjusted the milk/flour ratio just slightly to suit our preference. Thanks for the twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lockland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
As others said, this is a great recipe, just like the restaurants, however there is just not enough gravy and it comes out too thick. I doubled it and added more milk-add enough so that you get the consistancy you personally like. It was just too thick for me. Make sure you cook the flour well to get rid of the pasty taste before you add the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Winter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This recipe is the only reason my girlfriend stays with me. The combination of spices leaves you glowing after eating it. Everyone complains about the recipe not calling for enough milk, sure it needs more milk but it doesn't justify giving one star. Just add more milk until its the consistency you like. Gloria keep up the good work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I didn't find it too thick at all and I used the calculator to increase the recipe to 60 servings for a Master Gardener training class at our local AgCenter. It was the hit of the morning. I left out the hot sauce and put a bottle on the table for anyone who wanted to heat it up. It held very well all morning in a crock pot on low, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I love this recipe...actually, my mother used to make it all the time and has since passed away. I'm so grateful that I found it here. I realize that it does come out a bit thick, but I add milk as needed to make it come out just right. The "unusual" spices give it a nice twist on something that normally is a bit on the bland side. UPDATE....8/12/2011 although I have for the most part memorized this recipe(Thanks again for submitting Debbie!!) I just can't help but comment on some of the really nasty comments left here. There are plenty of pre-mixed packages of garbage that you simply add water to or if feeling a little daring substitute milk. This recipe can take many different directions that's the beauty of it, and for people who are not family with poultry seasoning, maybe they should become a little more educated in the kitchen before writing such a nasty review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years and it's the best but yes you do have to tweak it. I use a pound and a half of sausage (use what you like, my family likes maple). Increase the onion to you taste at least a quarter cup. Increase the flour; I use 4 1/2 tbsp and then use 4 1/2 cups milk. But always use the same ratio of flour to milk. I use 1 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning since I increased the liquid. Nutmeg is optional. I used Pillsbury frozen buttermilk biscuits. This is a great recipe. I have been using this for 10 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States