Gloria's Sausage Gravy with Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
this recipe is very tasty but the gravy needs to be doubled. It's too thick and it doesn't soak into the biscuits. I used 2 tbsp of flour and 2 cups of milk. I also eliminated the salt altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
very good but as a previous reviewer said please double the amount of milk and as for the flour I used 3 tablespoons.Awesome!! tastes like the stuff I order at restaurants!! even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This was amazing! Just like Resturants, except for more sausage. The gravy came together really fast and easy. I actually cheated and used premade bisuts from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uhall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I used between 3 & 4 cups of milk, & increased the flour amount to 1/4 cup. I was out of nutmeg, so left that out, don't know what difference that would make, but still tasted fantastic!! I also cheated and used biscuits in a can. Made with homemade hashbrowns, and fried eggs. Great Sunday Morning Breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
As others said, this is a great recipe, just like the restaurants, however there is just not enough gravy and it comes out too thick. I doubled it and added more milk-add enough so that you get the consistancy you personally like. It was just too thick for me. Make sure you cook the flour well to get rid of the pasty taste before you add the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Winter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I agree with the other reviewers that this does come out way too thick. Will keep my other recipe going, although thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Yummy gravy! I used a 12 oz chub of light sausage and skipped the salt and nutmeg(although I did throw a dash of season salt in). My husband wanted more gravy and a smaller ratio of sausage to gravy. So, next time I will double all of the ingredients EXCEPT the sausage. I used a different different biscuit recipe as I didn't have buttermilk, nor could are hunger pains stand to wait for the rise time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
my husband and sons looove this recipe. It turns out super every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I give this five stars because it is absolutely delicious. I found this recipe because my husband request I make some. I wasnt sure if I would like it, but I love it too! I agree, more sauce is needed, so I usually add more liquid. Also I just use refrigerator biscuits to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouperWoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I thought this was a greatr recipe, but as many have said before me it's a bit thick. I needed to add quite a bit of liquid to get the desired result. And I also used less sausage. As for the bisquits I would recommend making your own.. I tried the store-bought ones and it just didn't come out right with those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARENESP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jondal, Hordaland, Norway
Living In: Bergen, Hordaland, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States