Gloria's Sausage Gravy with Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I love this recipe...actually, my mother used to make it all the time and has since passed away. I'm so grateful that I found it here. I realize that it does come out a bit thick, but I add milk as needed to make it come out just right. The "unusual" spices give it a nice twist on something that normally is a bit on the bland side. UPDATE....8/12/2011 although I have for the most part memorized this recipe(Thanks again for submitting Debbie!!) I just can't help but comment on some of the really nasty comments left here. There are plenty of pre-mixed packages of garbage that you simply add water to or if feeling a little daring substitute milk. This recipe can take many different directions that's the beauty of it, and for people who are not family with poultry seasoning, maybe they should become a little more educated in the kitchen before writing such a nasty review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I did not make the biscuits (as some other reviewers said, it was too long of a process for the morning), however I've made this gravy recipe several times. While it is very thick, I have learned to double the recipe (probably could triple) EXCEPT for the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
The chicken seasoning, hot sauce and Worcestershire really gave it a great flavor! One of the reviewers was crazy for wondering why they should put it in, I think it's the best I've made in quite some time! I didn't add the nutmeg and added only a teaspoon or so of chopped onions from the spice rack and adjusted the milk/flour ratio just slightly to suit our preference. Thanks for the twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lockland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I did not try this recipe. I meant to review the Bob Evans sausage gravy, which was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I agree with BABIDOLL02 in the first review. This is not gravy. Nor are these biscuits. I could not believe the long list of useless ingredients I was looking at. It actually got me so curious I just had to try it. I followed the recipe for both the biscuits and the gravy to the letter. Measured everything (which I rarely do anymore). I must say this turned out to be exactly like so concoction my mother would have made when I was a kid. What is the point of the poultry seasoning? What is poultry seasoning? And the nutmeg! Why am I putting "Nutmeg" in my sausage gravy? Let's not forget the biscuits, or were they rolls? If you simply get rid of the yeast and butter your looking at buttermilk biscuits that take about five minutes prep time and 10 minutes in the oven. I don't want to wait 2 1/2 hours for my B&G in the morning! If you really want a decent gravy in the morning try "Bob Evans Sausage Gravy" on this site. It has great reviews and too simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I am rating this recipe as it is written.....this is NOT a gravy recipe, all I ended up was with sausage. I wished I had went back and read the other reviews before attempting to make this. Sorry, but this recipe needs major adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I thought this was a greatr recipe, but as many have said before me it's a bit thick. I needed to add quite a bit of liquid to get the desired result. And I also used less sausage. As for the bisquits I would recommend making your own.. I tried the store-bought ones and it just didn't come out right with those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARENESP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jondal, Hordaland, Norway
Living In: Bergen, Hordaland, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I give this five stars because it is absolutely delicious. I found this recipe because my husband request I make some. I wasnt sure if I would like it, but I love it too! I agree, more sauce is needed, so I usually add more liquid. Also I just use refrigerator biscuits to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouperWoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
my husband and sons looove this recipe. It turns out super every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Yummy gravy! I used a 12 oz chub of light sausage and skipped the salt and nutmeg(although I did throw a dash of season salt in). My husband wanted more gravy and a smaller ratio of sausage to gravy. So, next time I will double all of the ingredients EXCEPT the sausage. I used a different different biscuit recipe as I didn't have buttermilk, nor could are hunger pains stand to wait for the rise time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States