Gloria's Sausage Gravy with Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
we listened to the advice of the others and doubled the recipe... and instead of pork we made it with our friend's elk sausage ... it is a huge hit with the whole family...this time i am trying it with sage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is the best sausage gravy recipe I have ever had. Get a ton of compliments whenever I make this. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I added 1 more tbs of flour and 2 more cup of milk and used a tube of biscuits. Ready in 1/2 and hour! yummy D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years and it's the best but yes you do have to tweak it. I use a pound and a half of sausage (use what you like, my family likes maple). Increase the onion to you taste at least a quarter cup. Increase the flour; I use 4 1/2 tbsp and then use 4 1/2 cups milk. But always use the same ratio of flour to milk. I use 1 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning since I increased the liquid. Nutmeg is optional. I used Pillsbury frozen buttermilk biscuits. This is a great recipe. I have been using this for 10 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Good. I will thin out gravy next time- not enough milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Don't let the nutmeg scare you away from this recipe. It adds a richness and flavor that no one will be able to put their finger on. I substitued Hot pork sausage for the sage. I left out the dash of hot sauce put added a 1/4 tsp of rubbed sage. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Bird
Home Town: Teton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sidney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
My family loved this recipe. My husband's eyes got big as he took his first bite. He said it was just like the restaurant's version. Other viewers are correct in leaving the sausage and doubling(tripling even!) the rest of the ingredients. The gravy would be great to make ahead and have on hand to ease the rush in the morning. (I cheated and made frozen biscuits and it was still fantastic.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very tasty...I doubled everything except the sausage...the spices might sound odd, but they give it the "sausage gravy" taste...I made my own cheddar biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I live in Montreal and miss the taste of American country cooking, so I tried this and I was pleased that it tasted so much like home. I used my own biscuits but made the gravy and it's quite good. I added extra nutmeg. I'll use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
this was very good -just need more milk and i made my own baking powered biscuits - i would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States