Glogg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
The almonds and raisins are great for taste but I found the volume of them in the pot a little too much, especially after they absorb some of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
Very Very good, I added a little more wine after I removed the rasins and almonds because they absorbed alot of the drink, the consistency is still fairly thick and everyone just loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
I took the advice of previous reviewers and didn't double the raisins and almonds when I doubled this recipe. There was still way too many! I would reduce the number again. Although the recipe called for 2 oz. of cinnamon sticks, a jar only holds .75 oz. I used the whole jar after the recipe was doubled and it was plenty. I can't imagine how it would have tasted with 4 oz. of cinnamon sticks. Otherwise, the taste was excellent. It was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
As an American living in Sweden, I have only one suggestion for the glgg, add the raisins and almonds AFTER you've boiled everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I have a swedish family who drinks this every christmas, for those who have not had it it is a drink for cold weather, something warm to come out of the cold to with a spicy holiday flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I befriended someone from the Netherlands who was studying here in the U.S. and he served this at a holiday party. He said that you leave the almonds and raisins out in a dish NEXT TO the pot of glogg. People serve themselves hot glogg and add the almonds/raisins if they choose to. That way they do not get soggy. I prefer this with MUCH LESS sugar...I don't like sweet things and I felt that the sugar brought out the flavor of the spices so much that it masked the wine. When I cut the sugar to half, it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This is a great recipe. I suggest charging it up with a little more brandy though. I noticed people reviewing the amount of almonds and raisins in the recipe. It says to serve WITH the almonds and raisins, nowhere does it say to prepare it with the almonds and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This recipe is incomplete. There are a ton of variations, but most people boil with the almonds and raisins, but then remove them at the end so you only have the liquid. You can serve with almonds and raisins if you wish. I make non-alcoholic with grape, cherry and apple juice, brandy extract boiled with almonds, raisins, some ginger and an orange rind. Let it sit overnight, then boil again and remove solids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Grampa's Brandy Alexander

Creme de cacao, chocolate syrup and ice cream make a super-rich cocktail.

The Cusco Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a refreshing summer cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States