Glen's Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
As others had said, I had to use 2 to 3 times as much cheese to get a thick consistancy. Next time I will probably just use the right amount of cheese and halve everything else because it ended up making a lot more then I needed. Also, next time I will use more cheddar and less swiss, but thats just a personal preference. Overall, it is a very good cheese sauce. I will definately make it again with the changes I mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is a really easy recipe to make macaroni and cheese! I made a few changes, though. I left out the mustard powder, Swiss cheese, and sherry. I also added a lot of cheddar cheese (1 cup mild or 3/4 cup sharp.) I have made this many times (at least 5) for easy macoroni and cheese. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I just tried this on top of a breakfast egg bake in place of cheddaer and it was delicious. I will also try the fondue suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I really love this sauce, especially for broccoli and cheese baked potatoes. I've also used it to make mac & cheese, or added some hot sauce to make a tortilla dip. Wonderful! My only real change is I do usually add twice as much cheese as what it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERAWALLACE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great cheese sauce. I did double the cheese using only sharp cheddar, a heaty sprinkle of ground cayenne and about 1/2 tablespoon of worchestire instead of salt. I am using on broccoli tonight but I think it would make a good sauce for macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was very good sauce however, I doubled the cheese which I think is necessary to achieve a thick rich sauce. Without the extra cheese it was a bit bland and too runny. Also the sherry adds a nice sophisticated touch! Will use as my standby recipe for cheese sauce. Very Tasty! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Wow, this cheese sauce was great! I did add some more salt, and I didn't have any sherry so I used white wine. IT WAS GREAT! We poured it all over our broccoli and spaghetti!YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela.K9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I followed the advice of Lady Jaypee and doubled the cheese. I also added a splash of Worchestershire sauce. I omitted the salt. Nice sauce for my broccoli. Thanks Glen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This recipe was excellent. The sauce was very creamy. I did use more cheddar than called for. I also added parmesan cheese. I love strong cheddar taste. I used it to make macaroni and cheese> Very quick and simple to prepare. Looks of flexibility as well with cheese varieties depending on what you have in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
We really enjoyed this delicately-flavored sauce. I wanted a thicker sauce so doubled (or maybe 3x) the cheese. Had to use all cheddar as my Swiss gruyere was frozen! I think the Swiss, combined with the sherry, would be really good too. Served over steamed cauliflower. Thanks for the recipe, Glen. I'll use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States