Glen's Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I did not use sherry and cut the recipe down. Very easy to prepare and was still great after my amendments. I thought it went well over mixed vegetables and used it as a "fondue" as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
pretty good...and super quick to make. I made 3 servings just for myself and it took 5 min. I poured it over a potato/hamburger conncoction I made, and ate what was leftover with tortilla chips. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Really good versatile sauce - good on vegetables, pasta, over eggs, as fondue, it'll do your taxes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very good! I didn't have any sherry, but other than that it went over perfectly with the family. I will try it with the sherry next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deedle Gee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairns, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Smooth and creamy, but not enough cheese flavor to suit me, even though I used double the amount of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Very good cheese sauce! I didn't add the sherry but it still came out very yummy. And I added a dash of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I used this over steamed broccoli and my broccoli adverse son really liked it; so did my husband. I scaled it to 4 and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Yummy. Mine thickened up just fine - those who had trouble with that probably need to raise the heat just a little and let it cook a bit longer before adding the cheeses. I'd use less sherry and more cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Loved this recipe!!! I found it to be very easy and not time consuming at all. Although first time trying I admit that I tweeked it a bit by adding a 1/3 cup more of sherry, 1 1/2 cup milk, 1/4 cup parmesan cheese and 2 cups Kraft finely shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Once butter is melted on low heat, I found that by turning the heat up to med./low you must stir and watch carefully after adding the initial ingredients and before adding cheeses as the mixture will lump up terribly. Should this happen don't dump and start over, simply stir a bit vigorously mashing out any lumps that have formed for about 5 min. once mixture is smooth again you can begin to add your cheeses and lower the heat some and continue to stir. I found that if you add too much cheese such as the cheddar it may be a bit too much taste wise, but adding some extra milk not too much will get it just right. Poured it over some steamed broccoli and it was simply "DELISH"...Thanks So Much Glen. Can't wait to try it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I made this tonight for supper. The family all really loved it. I used mozzarella in place of swiss and I also substituted taco sauce for the sherry. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States