Glen's Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is a really easy recipe to make macaroni and cheese! I made a few changes, though. I left out the mustard powder, Swiss cheese, and sherry. I also added a lot of cheddar cheese (1 cup mild or 3/4 cup sharp.) I have made this many times (at least 5) for easy macoroni and cheese. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Loved this recipe!!! I found it to be very easy and not time consuming at all. Although first time trying I admit that I tweeked it a bit by adding a 1/3 cup more of sherry, 1 1/2 cup milk, 1/4 cup parmesan cheese and 2 cups Kraft finely shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Once butter is melted on low heat, I found that by turning the heat up to med./low you must stir and watch carefully after adding the initial ingredients and before adding cheeses as the mixture will lump up terribly. Should this happen don't dump and start over, simply stir a bit vigorously mashing out any lumps that have formed for about 5 min. once mixture is smooth again you can begin to add your cheeses and lower the heat some and continue to stir. I found that if you add too much cheese such as the cheddar it may be a bit too much taste wise, but adding some extra milk not too much will get it just right. Poured it over some steamed broccoli and it was simply "DELISH"...Thanks So Much Glen. Can't wait to try it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Really good versatile sauce - good on vegetables, pasta, over eggs, as fondue, it'll do your taxes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I halved this, and only used cheddar cheese (medium) as it was all I had. Very nice, mellow cheese sauce. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I didn't have sherry, so i used a dry white wine. It was too winey tasting. I would omit the alchohol next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I followed the advice of Lady Jaypee and doubled the cheese. I also added a splash of Worchestershire sauce. I omitted the salt. Nice sauce for my broccoli. Thanks Glen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is a pretty good recipe - the instructions on making the roux / white sauce are sorely lacking. Melt the butter in a heavy saucepan over medium heat. Stir in flour & spices until smooth, then continue to cook and stir until lightly browned, about 10 minutes. Gradually stir in the milk / sherry so that no lumps form and then simmer until thick, stirring the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Needed to double cheese and add more seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This recipe is well done, with a more "gourmet" flavor than the typical cheese sauce. The mustard, and particularly the Swiss cheese and sherry (I used dry sherry, not cooking sherry) all contributed to a more elegant sauce. Still, this was not something we were particularly crazy for - not on our broccoli anyway. Actually, this would be an excellent fondue with crostini or rye chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was very good, I left the salt out as another reviewer suggest - next time I will definately add the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States