Glenn's Marinated Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
We loved this recipe. I didn't have any wine, so I substituted the wine and vinegar for red wine vinegar. I also grilled it using one of those grill bags from Reynolds. It was very tender and really tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Laughlin Sumner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This seems like one of those recipes that no matter what you do you can't get it wrong. I didn't even have time to marinate the meat. I figured I'd just try it anyway to see if it still works. I put the marinade in an iron skillet and cooked it medium heat till bubbly, then I put the meat in the skillet and seared both sides. Then put it all(covered with foil) in the oven at 400 degrees using the meat thermometer to check for doneness. I also added 2 extra onions to the marinade. I did not have any garlic to add so I doubled the amount of garlic powder. It was still very good. It was even better on sandwiches the next day. This is a keeper for sure. Thank you Glenn for this outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This was an awesome recipe! A couple of the ingredients I did not have, but it still turned out great! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This recipe is great! I've found that spooning the marinade over the pork while cooking adds even more flavor to the pork. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
Had everything except the wine and it turned out great! This was my first attempt and it was very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Great recipe, did it in the oven, not the bbq and it was still amazing...will use this reciepe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This was really good! We smoked ours. I did use honey instead of corn syrup and marinated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Made this recipe two ways at the same time. one in the smoker and the other in a oven. Both were marinaded overnight. I lightly smoked one all day in an electric smoker and came out awesome. I placed the rest of the marinade in a cup and basted it several times during the cooking process. I had a water pan underneath the shoulder and filled it with hot apple juice, water and white wine. This kept the meat very moist plus it caught the juices from the meat. When basting, check the water pan and add more WARM liquid. Pull out meat at 175 Degrees. Let set for 20 min. covered with tinfoil. Very, very moist and tasty. Used BBQ sauce on this one. The oven one was a little dry and didn't retain the flavor of the smoked one. Same for the oven one. let stand for 20 min covered then slice. We used the juices from the oven one and heated it up in a pan added a 1/2 cup of Chardonney Wine and a little corn starch to thicken it . Made a great gravey for the oven pork shoulder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
The marinade is excellent. I didn't have time to grill for 3 hours. I cubed the pork shoulder prior to marinading for 4 hours. After draining the marinade, I sauteed the cubes in batches until throughly tender. Serve with pasta or rice. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Fantastic!! I smoked it for 4 1/2 hours (Oak)and it was tender & juicy. It didn't sit on the table long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a slightly sweet marinade for moist and tender grilled pork.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States