Glenn's Marinated Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Sure it has a lot of ingredients. Sure it takes alittle time to prepare. But.... soooo worth it. This marinade is hats off. I will only make a pork shoulder with this marinade. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDUBEAU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this recipe the other night and it was sooo good. The combo of all the flavors. My fiancee and I loved it. I will be making this again. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This is probably the best meat I have ever had. The marinade has a lot of ingredients but it is so worth it. However, I made a few adjustments. I didn't use molasses, Cajun seasoning or crushed red pepper. I used one of those long skinny pork loins instead of a big roast. Because of that, we only had to grill it for about an hour instead of 3 like it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horsham, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eagleville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Excellent marinade but 4 hours isn't long enough. I wouldn't waste your time or the ingredients unless you can marinate overnight. I cooked mine in the oven @ 275 for about 4 hours and drove everyone in the house crazy with the wonderful aroma. I'll use this one again but marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I used this recipe for a party we had on Saturday and got rave reviews for the pork. I made a couple of tweaks to the recipe and cooking method--first off, I used a 10.25 lb Boston Butt pork shoulder with the bone in and a 6.92 lb boneless pork shoulder. I marinated the meat overnight turning it 3 or 4 times before grilling it. I preheated the grill to about 350 degrees and using a big foil pan, I cooked the pork in the foil pan. I started off the first hour (turning after 30 minutes) just letting it cook in its own juices. After an hour, I poured the marinade in and cooked it in that turning once and hour. Total cooking time was about 4 1/2 hours. I kept the temprature between 325 - 350 the entire time. When we pulled it off, the meat was falling off the bone. Not only that--the taste was marvelous. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Wasn't impressed but wasn't disappointed. I lot of ingredients and not a lot of return.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I marinated the pork shoulder overnight, then braised it in the marinade in a slow oven (300 - 325) for four hours. After thickening the marinade I served the meat shredded, over sandwich buns, topped with the gravy. Better than pulled pork - a richer gravy, wonderfully tender meat, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Absolutely great! Easy to make with a wonderful taste,but not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Tried this for the first time. The meat was moist and had great flavor. The marinate was delicious. Even though I marinated the roast overnight, the flavor did not penetrate the entire roast. Next time, I will inject the marinate into the meat. I used a charcoal grill and had a problem with the bottom of the meat charring. I believe that I had the proper temperature because my meat was almost exactly the size in the recipe and the meat thermometer read the correct temp in three hours like the recipe. Perhaps a roast rack or a piece of foil to cover the bottom might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Love the marinade. I boiled it 5 minutes to use as a glaze over the meat while cooking. Lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a slightly sweet marinade for moist and tender grilled pork.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States