Glazed Yeast Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Aside from being really easy, they are easily flavored to your own taste. The batch I just made I cut without the center holes so I could fill them with preserves. I also did some rolled in cinnamon and sugar and others with a maple glaze. MUST EAT FRESH!! I have to agree with a previous post, if they turned out like hockey pucks, you did something completely wrong, and as far as flavor, if it's too bland add your own flavoring, or fillings/glazes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Northwest Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Plains, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
try using powdered milk and adding hot water instead of scalding your milk. it will improve on the texture of the dough. i like fresh yeast instead of dry yeast as well, it just responds better and with the frosting add just a spot of vanilla and almond extract. bland sugar frosting is very unappealing. otherwise a fair recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
these are really, really good!! I added vanilla to the milk before I scorched it, and I only used 1/2 a tsp of nutmeg. Also, instead of glazing the doughnuts, I tossed them in cinnamon and confectionery sugar. These doughnuts were so light and fluffy!! you just have to know what you are doing to get them right.... if your doughnuts came out dense or flat you are doing something wrong. my only hangup (and the reason I gave them four stars instead of five) is that they absolutely have to be eaten fresh. the next day they are dry and hard :( eat them when they are still warm, and you'll die and go to heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggiecp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
These have the texture of a doughnut- lightly crisp on the outside, soft and warm in the middle. They have no doughnut flavor. They taste like a fabulous bread stick. In fact, I may keep this recipe to make breadsticks (use 1/2 white/ 1/2 wheat flour, cook in rectangles and then sprinkle with garlic and parmesan). Vanilla would help tremendously for a doughnut flavor. This glaze is horrible. I used another recipe for icing (divided into 3rds and made chocolate, vanilla, and butterscotch, and some powder sugar doughnut holes), and the doughnuts all of a sudden tasted like doughnuts. With a rich glaze, I am glad the doughnuts don't have as much sugar. They just need the addition of vanilla to differentiate doughnut from breadstick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I was surprised how fast and easy these were to make! A review said they were flavourless so I added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. The second time I made them I added 1/4 tsp of each vanilla, lemon extract and coconut extract. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Edible, but not good by any means! It has the consistency and taste of bread, very bland bread. I coated most of the doughnuts in cinnamon-sugar [1/2 c. sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon, pinch of salt], those were much better than the glazed ones. The glaze just didn't add enough sweetness. Plus the cinnamon helped with the blandness issue. I followed some of the other review's advice and only put in 1/2 tsp nutmeg - I didn't taste it at all, so I would put in a whole tsp. But I would highly suggest eating them warm and the same day you make them! The outside gets kind of mushy the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnpierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Pretty durn good! (I)Didn't add the nutmeg and I made half of the icing chocolate, using just shy of 3 to 1 cocoa. My yeast was out of date but rose just fine. Note: Careful tending in the oil because they will cook fast. Good luck! (shouldn't be any leftovers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcnctx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Just finished making these. NO TASTE whatsoever,dough did NOT rise the way it should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I love this recipe ,will make it again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I tried the recipe, they came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States