Glazed Yeast Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
The recipe was easy to follow and prepare. The doughnuts looked beautiful once done however the taste was very disappointing. They were very bland. Once I put the glaze on it was like eating puffy cardboard with wet powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erica L Ingram
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Well these were easy enough to make and I used a regular sugar glaze cooked over the stove because I didn't have enough powdered sugar. Will make again! Whoever had flat donuts was doing something wrong. Mine turned out fine. I used dinosaur, flower, star, heart, teddy bear, butterfly, and round cutters. Picture provided if you want to see finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica L Ingram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I used this recipe for the first time and it will now be my only doughnut recipe! I added nutmeg and did little doughnut holes and rolled them in icing sugar. Be sure your holes are only about 1 inch in diameter as they will puff up twice their size. 5 minutes in a deep fryer and cool. There is so much flavour, you do not need any glaze. They were a HUGE hit! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. They tasted like fried white bread. The recipe could easily support a teaspoon of salt and 2/3 cups sugar. We're going to stick to store-bought donuts. They taste great, are inexpensive, and you're house won't smell. Also much less work and clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Lacked flavor and sugar wouldn't stay on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I have tried many doughnut recipes and have been baking and cooking for many years, and I say that this recipes makes a great doughnut! They rose very well, were light and fluffy and the recipe was quick to make. For those who rated this recipe poorly, I'm wondering if they didn't knned the dough long enough, or let it rise long enough, thus the cake like texture. As for them not having enough flavor, doughnuts are not very sweet on their own, and unless you are making a flavored doughnut, you get flavor from whatever topping you put on the doughnut,frosting, sugar, etc. If you are new to cooking, don't be afraid to alter the simple glaze with flavor extracts or other ingredients to get the flavor you like. I will say that I opted to not add nutmeg to this recipe, but as stated, this was optional. If you are looking for a spice doughnut recipe, you could add apple pie spice or pumkin pie spice to the mix or just plain cinnemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
It was very good! We all loved it and some say it tastes better than Shiply's! A little less nutmeg for glazed, but for all the others we tasted (chocolate, cinnamon, and sugar) it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Splendora, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
this recipe is amazing! i make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
great glaze recipe! I used (Pilsbury Big Grand Biscuts) and used an old salt shaker to cut out holes and then deep fried the donuts and holes but used the glaze and top mine with cin-sugar mix.....GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States