Glazed Tofu Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2003
I'm always on the lookout for good recipes using substitutes for ground beef and this one really was a winner. Came out nice and moist and my kids especially loved the soy sauce/brown sugar glaze. This one's a keeper... I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I have a question about this recipe. What advantage is the tofu? You're using 2 lbs. of meat so why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
My tofu-hating husband requests this dish over and over. It's so easy and I just freeze the fresh ingredients in premeasured portions, the let them defrost in the fridge right before making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was a good meatloaf. I did change a few things based on other suggestions. I added only one egg since I only used one pound of turkey, I did use the whole package of tofu, since others had said that it was too salty I cut down on the onion soup mix(1/2pkg) and soy sauce(1/8cup). I added about 1tsp of Emeril's Asian spice mix and that gave it a real nice kick. I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I used 2 12 0z bags of the ground morning star soy portein product instead of turkey and it was wonderful! Texture was just like meat? thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Really yummy, although pretty salty. I used only 1 pound of turkey, and twice the tofu, and it was great. Next time I will try it with only tofu, no meat, and maybe a combination of spices rather than the super salty onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This was very good and very moist. I had a few changes: used 1.25 lbs of ground turkey, one egg and no bell peppers (didn't have any on hand). The sauce really makes it. My husband said it was just OK, until I told him to spoon some of the leftover sauce onto the meatloaf: then he really liked it (although he knew there was tofu in it so he was a little turned off but still enjoyed it). My 4 yr old liked it as well. A great way to get some soy into our diets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
A couple reviewers thought this was bland so I used the spicy tofu rather than the plain and it was good. Next time I would use the lo-sodium soy sauce. Very good - I'd make again and tweak it a little for personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGAR88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This deserves 5 stars! What a great way to use tofu in a meatloaf and it DOES blend incredibly well...you don't know it's partly meatless! I also agree that the sauce makes it it...I think it's worth doubling or even tripling. I didn't think the sauce was too salty...keep it as is. However, due to the other reviews abou the onion soup mix being too salty (and also the fact that I didn't have any on-hand), here's what I mixed the meatloaf with and it turned out perfectly seasonsed: 1/2 panko crumbs, 2 TB's teriyaki sauce, 1 small chopped onion, 1/4 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper, 1/8 tsp garlic salt, 1/4 tsp Spike gourmet seasoning (or something similar). I followed the recipe with the same amount of eggs and I did add the green pepper, but I used more tofu (19 oz. instead of 14 oz.) and used only 1 lb. of ground turkey. Delish! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I followed the recipe as instructed but doubled the sauce as others' recommended. My husband found the smell of the meatloaf offensive but said it tasted okay. I found the smell strong and the taste was okay. My son refused to try it because of the strong smell (Lipton's Onion Soup and soy combination, I think). The smell is very strong and the leftovers tainted food/water in the refrigerator. I am not inclined to make this again given our unfortunate response to a healthy alternative meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States