Glazed Pumpkin Donuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I used this recipe to make doughnut holes with my Nostalgia Cake Pop Bakery. It worked perfectly! The only changes I made were increased the recipe size to serve 18 (didn't want to waste pumpkin puree), substituted the Pumpkin Spice (didn't have it) and altered the glaze. I used 1 tsp allspice, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger. I'm sure it would have been great with plain Pumpkin Spice, I just didn't have it. With my 1 1/2 TBSP scoop leveled out, 8 min baking time, rolled them over and cooked for another 30 seconds, this recipe made about 3.5 dozen doughnut holes with the recipe at 18 servings (a whole 15oz can of pumpkin). For the glaze I did use a reduced amount of milk instead of water and added a couple TBSP of corn syrup. This helps the glaze harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CECILIAMORISON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This recipe worked great! I was looking for a baked donut recipe and though I didn't have pumpkin on hand I traded out the pumpkin for homemade, chunky apple sauce and it was so yummy! I also used a cinnamon and sugar coating in place of the glaze. They were soft and perfect! I made them for my sisters baby shower and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Yummy doughnut!! The only problem I had was that no matter how long I baked it for, they were still a little under cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAROLC80
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
These donuts are moist and flavorful. Baking these donuts left the kitchen smelling wonderful. I glazed the top and bottom, yummo! I used an ice cream scoop to fill the donut pan and just open a hole in the middle of the dollop it was quick and easy and resulted in even donuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I've made these doughnuts several times and already loved them, but then I tried them with some homemade applesauce (instead of pumpkin) and wow!! Incredible!!! All the wonderful flavor of an apple fritter, but with homemade, soft, yummy goodness! Either way, I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Made this recipe gluten free by substituting the 2 c flour with 1/2 cup each of the following: corn starch, tapicoa flour, rice flour, and sorghum flour. Also added 2 teaspoons of xanthan gum. Also, I used buttermilk instead of regular milk. Turned out delicious! I didn't have a doughnut pan, so I spooned the batter into a gallon ziploc bag, cut off a corner, and piped it onto the pan in a donut shape. Great flavor, and I love that I could make it GF and it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
These donuts are excellent. I made a maple glaze instead of the one listed in the recipe by substituting maple syrup for of some of the water and vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Good, but on the bland side without the glaze. Don't skip it! I didn't follow the glaze directions exactly but close enough. Just didn't measure out and aimed for things by eye. I made 1.5 times the recipe plus a double recipe of another donut and only have about 5 left (family of 5). If this is breakfast alone you'll have to increase the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMURONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
A delicious cake donut! Also, as all ovens vary, you may have to adjust the cooking time a bit for these, or any recipe you make. I have made these for years with great and tasty results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Great flavor.The texture isn't light & fluffy, which I didn't expect, but it also isn't the texture of a cake doughnut. It is very moist, dense, and heavy, just like a muffin. I made them as directed and they turned out ok but I will adjust the recipe next time to see if I can achieve a more doughnut-like texture. Also, I baked them at 325 for 15 minutes and they still were not done, so I adjusted the temperature up to 350 and baked them another 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States