Glazed Pumpkin Donuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I used this recipe to make doughnut holes with my Nostalgia Cake Pop Bakery. It worked perfectly! The only changes I made were increased the recipe size to serve 18 (didn't want to waste pumpkin puree), substituted the Pumpkin Spice (didn't have it) and altered the glaze. I used 1 tsp allspice, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger. I'm sure it would have been great with plain Pumpkin Spice, I just didn't have it. With my 1 1/2 TBSP scoop leveled out, 8 min baking time, rolled them over and cooked for another 30 seconds, this recipe made about 3.5 dozen doughnut holes with the recipe at 18 servings (a whole 15oz can of pumpkin). For the glaze I did use a reduced amount of milk instead of water and added a couple TBSP of corn syrup. This helps the glaze harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CECILIAMORISON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This recipe worked great! I was looking for a baked donut recipe and though I didn't have pumpkin on hand I traded out the pumpkin for homemade, chunky apple sauce and it was so yummy! I also used a cinnamon and sugar coating in place of the glaze. They were soft and perfect! I made them for my sisters baby shower and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Yummy doughnut!! The only problem I had was that no matter how long I baked it for, they were still a little under cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by frankaff
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I change the recipe around, make sugar free baked apple spice donuts. I sub pumpkin for unsweetened cup of apple sauce 1/4 cup brown sugar and a 1/4 cup of sweet & low and half the amount milk. ** when baking sugar free recipe you have to use small amount of sugar in recipes.** I used a donut cutter to shape my donuts. Baked for 20 minutes at a 325 oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I've made these doughnuts several times and already loved them, but then I tried them with some homemade applesauce (instead of pumpkin) and wow!! Incredible!!! All the wonderful flavor of an apple fritter, but with homemade, soft, yummy goodness! Either way, I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
These donuts are excellent. I made a maple glaze instead of the one listed in the recipe by substituting maple syrup for of some of the water and vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Made this recipe gluten free by substituting the 2 c flour with 1/2 cup each of the following: corn starch, tapicoa flour, rice flour, and sorghum flour. Also added 2 teaspoons of xanthan gum. Also, I used buttermilk instead of regular milk. Turned out delicious! I didn't have a doughnut pan, so I spooned the batter into a gallon ziploc bag, cut off a corner, and piped it onto the pan in a donut shape. Great flavor, and I love that I could make it GF and it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
added 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 tsp more pumpkin pie spice to the batter and used buttermilk instead of regular milk. Made 14 regular sized donuts. baked at 350 for 13 minutes in a donut pan. made the same glaze but half of the recipe size and it covered 11 donuts. the donuts were good with or without the glaze. Note: if you have never used a donut recipe for baking, the dough is not 'pourable' it's thick and sticky and you have to plop it in the pan and shape it into the mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have been searching for a decent baked donut recipe. This recipe is wonderful! I make mine dairy-free. I substituted light vanilla almond milk for the milk and Earth Balance for the butter. I have made the original pumpkin version. I did add a little cinnamon to the glaze, but it would be good without the cinnamon, too. I have also played with this recipe. I've used homemade chunky applesauce, which is great. The latest was chocolate banana. I substituted banana for the pumpkin and added a 1/4 cup of Hershey's Dark Cocoa powder. For the glaze, I used the light vanilla almond milk instead of water, a half teaspoon of almond extract and a half teaspoon of vanilla (instead of a full teaspoon of vanilla), and 1/3 cup of chocolate chips, 1/4 cup Earth Balance buttery spread, and 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar. Those are our family's favorite so far! Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAROLC80
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
These donuts are moist and flavorful. Baking these donuts left the kitchen smelling wonderful. I glazed the top and bottom, yummo! I used an ice cream scoop to fill the donut pan and just open a hole in the middle of the dollop it was quick and easy and resulted in even donuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Maple Pumpkin Donuts

Oven baked pumpkin doughnuts with maple glaze.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States