Glazed Pearl Onions With Raisins And Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have made this many times and it always get rave reviews. Thanks so much. Just had today with the Thanksgiving turkey. My son loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was delicious. I brought it to a pot luck and everyone raved about it. The only change I made was to cook it UNcovered. I cooked it for an hour and a half and the liquid never reduced with it covered. Once I uncovered it, things moved along smoothly. Also, I used two bags of frozen pearl onions to make things go faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My sister made this for Thanksgiving. When she told me the ingredients I thought it sounded really weird. Boy was I wrong, It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gordon-Armstead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Great recipe. Don't be tempted to use frozen onions. There is a huge difference in taste between the fresh and the frozen ones. Yes, it takes a while to squeeze the onions out of the skin, but well worth the extra effort. In fact, I would recommend never using frozen vegetables. They just aren't as flavorful as fresh and usually have a taste of being watered down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I was applauded with these onions and had been asked for the recipe at my dinner party. I used frozen pearl onions the 2nd time as cleaning the onions was tedious. Do not cook the frozen onions the time suggested as it gets mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Sooooooo tasty! Yum! For amusement I used golden raisins because they end up looking just like the onions. One of my friends ate half the meal before realizing why it was so sweet :-) But, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, use pre-skinned onions. You do not know the meaning of tedium until you have skinned 150 miniature onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This was delicious! What a surprise. I tired it as a chutney-type dish with Indian chicken, but I think it would go great with any white meat dish. REALLY tasty, and different, which is always nice for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Easy to make and a smash hit to taste. This side dish was the first to go at the Christmas table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This dish made me the hit of the party!! I made it the night before, refrigerated it after cooling it to room temperature, and then reheated it over a skillet. Then I served it bruschetta style on toasted french bread and goat cheese. The combination and flavor were gourmet! The only negative would be how time consuming the process was. I won't do this anytime soon, but the next party I need to impress people ;)...I'll be making this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I have been using this recipe on demand of my family for Thanksgiving for many years now. It is delicious with any meat or poultry. I use golden raisins, sherry vinegar, and on occasion I've added some shredded carrot at the end for color. This is now a family recipe that I will be passing on to the younger cooks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States