Glazed Pearl Onions with Raisins and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LISSA771
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This recipe with no changes-oops-yes I always use golden raisins- is simple and delicious. The caramelized onion and the wine flavor make a good relish for baked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Amazingly delicious! I made this for an extra side dish on Thanksgiving and WOW-what a hit! I will be creating your recipe again and again! Thanks so much for sharing. (this is the first time I ever reviewed a recipe but thought this was worth the effort)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I made this unusual recipe for a book club pot luck dinner. We read Tulipomania about the Dutch tulip craze of the 1600s and how some people mistakenly ate valuable tulip bulbs thinking they were onions. It was a PERFECT recipe to this event and was a hit. I sprinkled some dried parsley and snipped chives on top for a bit of color, and I added a 1/2 t of garlic powder. Maybe next time will add a clove of minced garlic at the start of the simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These were delicious! I did have to modify a bit because I didn't have any raisins so I used dried cranberries. I know I have slivered almonds buried somewhere in the blackhole AKA my freezer but alas I could not find. With those changes it was stil wonderful and so easy to make. This will be on my Thanksgiving table this fall for sure. Thank for sharing Christine L !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
So good! I subbed cognac for sherry, omitted the almonds, and had to use dried thyme, but this was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was awesome! The smell of the onions cooking had everyone's stomachs growling and I had to fight everyone off with my wooden spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I've been making this recipe for many years. It's a tradition at Thanksgiving-- my husband's favorite side dish. The sherry and almonds really add a lot to the taste, so I recommend leaving this recipe alone. It's fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Sadowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
My boyfriend's favorite! We had it as accompaniment to some roasted chicken and rice, and it was so good. I didn't have cherry, and used apple cider vinegar, and it was so good. Very easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Everyone loved this recipe. It took a while to make for a side dish but I used it for a potluck where it was the only thing I had to bring. Since it was a Christmas dinner I subbed craisins for the raisins but used the almonds. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
I loved this recipe. Unfortunately, I didn't have raisins and I didn't have almonds. I substituted craisins for the raisins and skipped the almonds. I used frozen pearl onions instead of fresh. Still wonderful and tasty. Elegant sidedish to a meat (we had turkey). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States