Glazed Mint Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Glazed mint brownies have been in my family since my grandma made them for my mom and her brothers growing up. She passed away a few years ago and I haven't had mint brownies since she passed. I decided to try this recipe for thanksgiving. It's a good idea to make it from the beginning. I followed this recipe to the tea. My first batch didn't turn out great. the brownines were pretty grainy. So my suggestions: 1.) make the browine part either out of a box or if you know if different recipe, use it instead. 2.) if your doing a 9x9, i suggest doubling the fillings so its not such a thin layer. add more food coloring also for a deeper mint green. 3.) when it comes to the topping, i use about 3/4 cc and 3 tablespoons of butter. i suggest using the double boiler method as it melts the chocolate slowly. Add the chocolate and butter in slowly to avoid burning it. Over all thought, its a good recipe, just need to make some modifications. Sorry this was so long :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
For a prettier bar for Christmas I drizzled and swirled about half of the chocolate topping from a fork over the top, and then sprinkled mini chocolate chips over that. My family was very impressed with the look and devoured them immediately, saying they tasted just like an Andes mint in brownie form (even better)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I used just boxed brownie mix (always strapped for time), but the topping is wonderful! Highly recommend that you cool the mint in the fridge before you put on the chocolate layer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwmn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I brought this brownie recipe to Thanksgiving where people really liked it even if it wasn't as pretty as the brownies in the picture with the recipe. I used a 8x8 pan because I couldn't find my 9x9 pan and the brownies were plenty thick and moist. I had problems with the glaze...for me it turned out more as a mushy, grainy chocolate ball consistency then a glaze. I think I heated the chocolate too long. 3/4 teaspoon mint extract seems like a lot as it produced a VERY strong mint flavor in the filling that I thought would be overpowering but when eaten with the chocolate brownie, it balanced nicely. But, if you don't like a very distinct mint flavor and would like it to be more subtle, you might want to try cutting back the extract to 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYB5149

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made these the other day my family loved them.They say it tasted like a York Peppermint Patty.I changed the recipe a little bit.I used a box brownie mix.I also made the filling with 2 Cups confectioners sugar,6 tsp butter added 2 1/2 tsp peppermint extract.I chilled the filling 30 minutes.Even with chilling it was hard to spread the melted chocolate chips on top. Next time when I make these I will just melt the chocolate chips and not add the butter. *HINT* Use a hot knife(dip it in hot water to heat)to cut the brownies on all sides.This way it makes it turn out like the picture thats posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
ahh ty for posting this ive been making these for a few years now and they are so wonderful but lost the recipie when my computer had to be rebooted these are the moistest brownies ive ever had and heres a tip the mint is really strong i cut it back to 1/2 a tsp and i ahve a lot of friends who dont like mint and omit it completely when i give them out for gifts they still love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vickie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I'm not sure how to rate these, so I ended up on four stars. Because the brownies were really good, but the mint filling was way too strong, I had to throw the cake out. But I don't live in the US, maybe the peppermint extract we have here is much stronger than the one you have in the US. I also had to use much more than 3 drops of food coloring, so next time I'll just try 3 drops of peppermint and 1/2 teaspoon of food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I used my own brownie recipe but used the filling and topping. For starter the amount of peppermint extract is WAY WAY too much! I used only 1/4 teaspoon and this was PLENTY minty. I doubled the filling part as I had a9x15 pan of brownies and this was the perfect amount of minty filling. I would NOT double it for a 9x9 pan(as another reviewer suggested) this would be grossly minty. The overall taste of this recipe was out of this world but only with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefspecialty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I'm giving this recipe the benefit of the doubt and giving it 5 stars. I followed the top reviewer's advice and doubled the mint filling, but I wish I hadn't, it was way too much. The advice I do recommend following is increasing the chocolate glaze by using 3/4 cup choc. chips and 3 Tbps. butter. This made the glaze very easy to spread over the mint layer. I sprinkled some Nestle mint and chocolate chips in the brownie layer and on top. Very pretty and tasty! I can imagine making these during the holidays, coloring the mint layer pink and sprinkling crushed candy canes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
My 13 year old never compliments my cooking no matter how much he likes it. He said these were good and he wants them instead of a birthday cake. :) I agree that they're great. Next time, I'm going to try doubling the recipe and using a 13 x 9 inch pan so that the brownies will be a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States