Glazed Mint Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
My 13 year old never compliments my cooking no matter how much he likes it. He said these were good and he wants them instead of a birthday cake. :) I agree that they're great. Next time, I'm going to try doubling the recipe and using a 13 x 9 inch pan so that the brownies will be a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I brought this brownie recipe to Thanksgiving where people really liked it even if it wasn't as pretty as the brownies in the picture with the recipe. I used a 8x8 pan because I couldn't find my 9x9 pan and the brownies were plenty thick and moist. I had problems with the glaze...for me it turned out more as a mushy, grainy chocolate ball consistency then a glaze. I think I heated the chocolate too long. 3/4 teaspoon mint extract seems like a lot as it produced a VERY strong mint flavor in the filling that I thought would be overpowering but when eaten with the chocolate brownie, it balanced nicely. But, if you don't like a very distinct mint flavor and would like it to be more subtle, you might want to try cutting back the extract to 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYB5149

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very tasty mint brownies! These were a big hit for Christmastime. My only comment is that the layer of mint icing separated from the brownie when chilled. Next time, I'll frost them when the brownies are still a little warm to see if this corrects this. But overall, I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I'm not sure how to rate these, so I ended up on four stars. Because the brownies were really good, but the mint filling was way too strong, I had to throw the cake out. But I don't live in the US, maybe the peppermint extract we have here is much stronger than the one you have in the US. I also had to use much more than 3 drops of food coloring, so next time I'll just try 3 drops of peppermint and 1/2 teaspoon of food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
ahh ty for posting this ive been making these for a few years now and they are so wonderful but lost the recipie when my computer had to be rebooted these are the moistest brownies ive ever had and heres a tip the mint is really strong i cut it back to 1/2 a tsp and i ahve a lot of friends who dont like mint and omit it completely when i give them out for gifts they still love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vickie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I made a double batch of these brownies and brought them to a party. All I had to bring home was an empty plate! I thought they were a tad too minty, but these brownies are rich and decadent, so maybe folks don't mind a strong mint flavor. I'd scale back the creme de menthe (or peppermint extract, as in the recipe). Otherwise, cut them into almost bite-sized pieces so you don't overwhelm brownie traditionalists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Gloucester, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe! I've been searching for it for lo, these many years. At age 12 (and I'm now an old lady of 61!), the mother of a fellow Girl Scout, Carole Mellinger, brought these brownies to our Christmas party. I have never forgotten their taste. Again, thanks!! RoseMary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I made these for a pot luck at work and they were a 5 star hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I used just boxed brownie mix (always strapped for time), but the topping is wonderful! Highly recommend that you cool the mint in the fridge before you put on the chocolate layer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwmn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These were perfectly delicious. The brownie was wonderfully chewy, the mint was not too minty and the chocolate added the perfect touch. They certainly didn't come out as pretty as the picture, but still looked great and were pretty simple to make. A big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States