Glazed Mint Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I've made these several times in the past year & they're always the first thing to go on a dessert tray. Everyone LOVES them! I usually just use a boxed brownie mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Glazed mint brownies have been in my family since my grandma made them for my mom and her brothers growing up. She passed away a few years ago and I haven't had mint brownies since she passed. I decided to try this recipe for thanksgiving. It's a good idea to make it from the beginning. I followed this recipe to the tea. My first batch didn't turn out great. the brownines were pretty grainy. So my suggestions: 1.) make the browine part either out of a box or if you know if different recipe, use it instead. 2.) if your doing a 9x9, i suggest doubling the fillings so its not such a thin layer. add more food coloring also for a deeper mint green. 3.) when it comes to the topping, i use about 3/4 cc and 3 tablespoons of butter. i suggest using the double boiler method as it melts the chocolate slowly. Add the chocolate and butter in slowly to avoid burning it. Over all thought, its a good recipe, just need to make some modifications. Sorry this was so long :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Very good recipe! Very rich, but delicious. I used a store-bought brownie mix instead, and then I crumbled some Andes Mints on top. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made these the other day my family loved them.They say it tasted like a York Peppermint Patty.I changed the recipe a little bit.I used a box brownie mix.I also made the filling with 2 Cups confectioners sugar,6 tsp butter added 2 1/2 tsp peppermint extract.I chilled the filling 30 minutes.Even with chilling it was hard to spread the melted chocolate chips on top. Next time when I make these I will just melt the chocolate chips and not add the butter. *HINT* Use a hot knife(dip it in hot water to heat)to cut the brownies on all sides.This way it makes it turn out like the picture thats posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I doubled the recipe and put into a 9x13 pan. The brownie layer turned out a little bit dry, and the chocolate glaze didn't seem to hold to the filling when you cut them apart. Overall very good flavor though, would definitely consider giving another shot at this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
For a prettier bar for Christmas I drizzled and swirled about half of the chocolate topping from a fork over the top, and then sprinkled mini chocolate chips over that. My family was very impressed with the look and devoured them immediately, saying they tasted just like an Andes mint in brownie form (even better)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These were perfectly delicious. The brownie was wonderfully chewy, the mint was not too minty and the chocolate added the perfect touch. They certainly didn't come out as pretty as the picture, but still looked great and were pretty simple to make. A big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I used just boxed brownie mix (always strapped for time), but the topping is wonderful! Highly recommend that you cool the mint in the fridge before you put on the chocolate layer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwmn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I made these for a pot luck at work and they were a 5 star hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe! I've been searching for it for lo, these many years. At age 12 (and I'm now an old lady of 61!), the mother of a fellow Girl Scout, Carole Mellinger, brought these brownies to our Christmas party. I have never forgotten their taste. Again, thanks!! RoseMary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States