Glazed Mint Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Made these for a super bowl party and there was none left! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karma W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
We just didn't like these. Way too rich, the mint was overpowering, even though I only added 1/2 tsp peppermint extract, even less than what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I used package brownies in an 11x7 pan. For the filling, I used 1/8 tsp less of the peppermint extract than called for. I let the brownie/filling sit in the refrigerator for several hours. I followed others' suggestions and used 3 tbsp butter and 3/4 cup choc chips for the glaze. This was just enough to cover the brownies in the 11x7 pan. Both the filling and the glaze are thin layers - a nice compliment to the brownie, but not over the top sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
These were insanely rich. They were pretty good at first, but after I got about half way through my first and only square, I realized I couldn't finish it. Even my dad, who LOVES sweets and especially brownies, thought they were too much. I might try them again with half of the filling and glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These are a huge hit when ever I make them. In a hurry I just buy brownie mix, make them and add the mint frosting and glaze to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I couldn't wait to make these after seeing Dianne's great picture. I also took a note from her review and made the cream filling into a red and white swirl, more for the holiday season. I did not double the filling, and there was plenty. The brownies are rich and fudgy and the mint compliments very nicely. I topped mine with some candy cane sprinkles and chopped candy cane Hershey Kisses. They were not only delicious, but also made a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
These are delicious! I'm not sure why previous reviewers found the brownies to be grainy in texture. My only thought is perhaps they didn't use a blender to mix the eggs, sugar, and flour. The brownies are super quick and easy to make; don't use a mix! Mine sunk in the middle, which may be due to altitude. I also only had about 1/8 tsp of peppermint extract, but it was actually OK. I'd probably use 1/4 tsp next time. Hubby said these taste like junior mint brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
My favorite dessert ever is the Mint Brownie from Whole Foods. THIS TOPS THAT! Tip: Refridgerate the finished product long enough to cut them easier, then freeze half to aid self-control! Per suggestions, I used boxed brownies. I used the Kroger brand basic brownies, spread them onto a 11x7 dish and baked them for slightly longer. Then I followed the recipe for the filling and glaze to a tee. They are to-die-for!!! I will never pay $2.50 for another whole foods brownie when this whole batch probably cost me $2. AMAZING!!! The hubby and I can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I'm giving this recipe the benefit of the doubt and giving it 5 stars. I followed the top reviewer's advice and doubled the mint filling, but I wish I hadn't, it was way too much. The advice I do recommend following is increasing the chocolate glaze by using 3/4 cup choc. chips and 3 Tbps. butter. This made the glaze very easy to spread over the mint layer. I sprinkled some Nestle mint and chocolate chips in the brownie layer and on top. Very pretty and tasty! I can imagine making these during the holidays, coloring the mint layer pink and sprinkling crushed candy canes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
One of my favorite brownies of ALL time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States