Glazed Mint Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Made these for a super bowl party and there was none left! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karma W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
We just didn't like these. Way too rich, the mint was overpowering, even though I only added 1/2 tsp peppermint extract, even less than what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I used package brownies in an 11x7 pan. For the filling, I used 1/8 tsp less of the peppermint extract than called for. I let the brownie/filling sit in the refrigerator for several hours. I followed others' suggestions and used 3 tbsp butter and 3/4 cup choc chips for the glaze. This was just enough to cover the brownies in the 11x7 pan. Both the filling and the glaze are thin layers - a nice compliment to the brownie, but not over the top sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
These were insanely rich. They were pretty good at first, but after I got about half way through my first and only square, I realized I couldn't finish it. Even my dad, who LOVES sweets and especially brownies, thought they were too much. I might try them again with half of the filling and glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These are a huge hit when ever I make them. In a hurry I just buy brownie mix, make them and add the mint frosting and glaze to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I couldn't wait to make these after seeing Dianne's great picture. I also took a note from her review and made the cream filling into a red and white swirl, more for the holiday season. I did not double the filling, and there was plenty. The brownies are rich and fudgy and the mint compliments very nicely. I topped mine with some candy cane sprinkles and chopped candy cane Hershey Kisses. They were not only delicious, but also made a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
These are delicious! I'm not sure why previous reviewers found the brownies to be grainy in texture. My only thought is perhaps they didn't use a blender to mix the eggs, sugar, and flour. The brownies are super quick and easy to make; don't use a mix! Mine sunk in the middle, which may be due to altitude. I also only had about 1/8 tsp of peppermint extract, but it was actually OK. I'd probably use 1/4 tsp next time. Hubby said these taste like junior mint brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
My favorite dessert ever is the Mint Brownie from Whole Foods. THIS TOPS THAT! Tip: Refridgerate the finished product long enough to cut them easier, then freeze half to aid self-control! Per suggestions, I used boxed brownies. I used the Kroger brand basic brownies, spread them onto a 11x7 dish and baked them for slightly longer. Then I followed the recipe for the filling and glaze to a tee. They are to-die-for!!! I will never pay $2.50 for another whole foods brownie when this whole batch probably cost me $2. AMAZING!!! The hubby and I can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I'm giving this recipe the benefit of the doubt and giving it 5 stars. I followed the top reviewer's advice and doubled the mint filling, but I wish I hadn't, it was way too much. The advice I do recommend following is increasing the chocolate glaze by using 3/4 cup choc. chips and 3 Tbps. butter. This made the glaze very easy to spread over the mint layer. I sprinkled some Nestle mint and chocolate chips in the brownie layer and on top. Very pretty and tasty! I can imagine making these during the holidays, coloring the mint layer pink and sprinkling crushed candy canes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
One of my favorite brownies of ALL time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States