Glazed Meatloaf II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS AFTER READING ALL THE REVIEWS: The idea of putting 2 pieces of bread on the bottom of the pan before cooking to soak up the grease is GOD SEND! Works like a charm, and you can remove it when you slice everyone their piece. BUT I also take it out at the 1hr mark and drain the excess liquid. I double the sauce, but only to drizzle on top of everyone's slice since my kids&husband like to slather their meatloaf w/ketchup. When I do double the topping, I add 1T lemon juice OR 1T balsamic vinegar for yummiest topping! Substitute bread for 3/4C oats & use green onions instead of onions if you've got picky eaters. Sometimes I dice green peppers too for more flavor. If you haven't tried "Honey Roasted Red Potatoes" I'd recommend trying them along side, and you're sure to be everyone's best friend. All my picky eaters tell me I'm the greatest cook ever due to everyone's great reviews! This meatloaf was liked by everyone over the two other top rated ones on this site! I also make them in muffin cups and just baked at 375 for 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
483 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Yum!! This recipe makes an excellent meatloaf. My son and husband love meatloaf, so I've been trying various recipes to see which one they like the best. After tasting this for dinner last night, they both said don't try any more, this one is the best! As for substitutions, I added 3/4 c. of oats in place of the bread, and used balsamic vinegar in place of the lemon juice. Next time I will try the lemon juice, but the vinegar worked fine and I happened to be out of lemons. Oh, one great tip that I got from another reviewer is to line the bottom of your 9x5 pan with bread slices when making a meatloaf. The bread soaks up all the fat and then you just throw the bread away. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
My family was craving meat so I desided to make them meatloaf. I didnt have any beef bouillon so I added a pinch of garlic powder to add flavor. I also didnt have bread so I substituted that for a cup of oats. Dry mustard was traded in for yellow mustard. I've hated meatloaf for as long as I can remember but what I made last night was excellent. The glaze made all the difference, it was amazing. After reading the reviews I made a double batch of glaze and it covered the loaf beautifully. Definatly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gates, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This is a great meatloaf and my family loves it as much as I do. What I changed is I don't wait until the end to put the glaze on top. What I do is preheat the oven to 325 and put the meatloaf in w/o the glaze for 10 minutes, then i glaze it and insert a oven safe thermometer and cook the meatloaf to 155. Comes out perfect everytime. I also use just plain unseasoned breadcrumbs instead of whole slices of bread shredded. Also I forgot to add that I do not cook it in a loaf pan. I form the loaf in the pan then take it out and put it on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Keeps the meatloaf from collecting all the fat runoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Delicious! I just made this after trying, without great satisfaction, 3 other meatloaf recipes. This is moist, but not greasy at all! The lemon added a wonderful touch without being overpowering at all. I love the topping, and have made other glazes like it, but never thought to add lemon juice. My husband normally will grin and bear meatloaf night. Not this time. He loved it so much that there aren't any leftovers for a meatloaf sandwich in my lunch tomorrow! I highly recommend this great recipe!!! The only thing I did differently is add 1/4 cup French's Fried Onions crumbled up into it because I don't like chopping onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Amazing! I have made this so many times. I use 7 grain bread (which my hubby hates) and he doesn't even notice. To save time I also make them in muffin cups and cook them at 375 for 30 minutes. I always serve them with mashed potatoes... isn't that how meatloaf is always served?? Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Let me just say, this meatloaf is DELICIOUS! Before making this recip I had never been a fan of ANY meatloaf except my fiance's mothers which is very similiar, but after making this, both myself and my fiance agreed it is the best meatloaf we've ever had. I always substitute the bread slices for 1 cup of breadcrumbs,and it turns out great! It's moist, hearty, and delicious! I serve it with mashed potatoes, and I always make more sauce for this one because we love it saucy! Makes great leftovers for the next days lunch too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARRINGTONX2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was very good! I soaked the bread in milk first before adding to the meat! I also added garlic. If you are using a convection oven, you can cook for 50 mins and then put the topping on for 10 mins! Very moist and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I adjusted this recipe following sd's directions. Next time I will follow exactly as is as last reviewer did. Mine came out with wonderful flavor and very moist. Only thing off was that I like a crispy crust on my meat loaf...we fight over the ends. This was just a bit too moist. I think what happened is that I increased the sauce per everyone's suggestion, and then still included 1/3 of it in with the meat. In retrospect, I probably should have not put that much of the sauce in with meat. Still, this was very very good and smelled wonderfully. My kids loved as well. Served with fried potatoes with onion, and a tossed salad, and a glass of chianti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I've been looking for a good meatlof recipie for awhile and after reading some of the other reviews, I tweaked this a bit and it turned out great. I used lime instead of lemon juice, 1/2 pkg of cornbread stuffing mix instead of shredded bread, and a couple dashes of worchestershire, soy and tobasco instead of bouillon. It was moist and flavorful. My husband loved it. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Mary's Meatloaf

Even non-meatloaf fans like this rich dish. The secret’s in the glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States