Glazed Meatloaf I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very tasty, especially the glaze. Only thing I did differently was sauté the onion in butter first. Stole that idea from the Barefoot Contessa. I would definitely make this again. My pickey husband even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This was my first attempt at meatloaf. I used a couple packets of Sazon complete seasonings in place of the beef bouillon and took another reviewers suggestion of adding some minced garlic. I'm Cuban so almost everything gets garlic! I also used the full 3 pieces of bread but tore them into tiny pieces. I don't measure things so my amounts may have been slightly different, but it tastes great! Wasn't sure about using mustard powder as I don't like mustard and had never used it as a powder, but the flavor is great and not like mustard you buy for deli sandwiches. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I used breadcrumbs instead of bread, and it was delicious! My husband couldn't believe he was loving meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is the only recipe my mom used while I was growing up. The only difference is she doubled the glaze and used half in the meat and reserved the rest to use ontop. It makes a huge difference and makes the meatloaf very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I never really liked meatloaf but my husband wanted it so I went ahead and tried it. He said it was the best ever! Even better than his mom's! Even I like it! The things I did differently: I didn't add lemon juice, I used oats (about a cup) instead of bread crumbs or pieces of bread, reduced the brown sugar to 1/4, placed two pieces of bread on the bottom to soak up the excess fat, used regular mustard not mustard powder, used onion powder instead of onion and added garlic powder as well. Hope this helps!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92babydoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is a great starter recipe for someone who is new to or has never had a meatloaf they enjoyed. I would definitely recommend this as a jumping off point for people. This recipe is fairly similar to the one I currently use. I usually don't measure when I make meatloaf, but I followed this recipe exactly to see if I liked the product better. I liked the addition of the lemon in the glaze as it adds a nice dimension to the flavor. However, I felt it was too overpowering to have the lemon in the meatloaf as well. It detracted too much from the savory flavors of the meatloaf and is primarily responsible for my 3-star rating. In addition, some of the proportions were off (for our tastes), leaving the meatloaf less firm and flavorful than when more onion and breadcrumbs and (non-lemon) glaze are used in the meat. I will go back to my favorite meatloaf recipe, but I WILL begin adding lemon juice to my glaze. This recipe is definitely worth a try, as I said, it is a great jumping off point. I think as people tweak it to their tastes, each person will find THEIR 5-star version of meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Very tasty. It is a nice change from normal meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Amazing! Turned out so good. This has quickly become my new favorite! I added onions and green peppers to it and it was fabulous. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Really good...for meatloaf :) the glaze makes ALL the difference for us. My son will even eat this. Followed the recipe exactly. Do make extra glaze for dipping. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe and one of my husbands favorites! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debskitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 897) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States