Glazed Meatloaf I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Oh, man. This is the first meatloaf I've attempted. I was looking for a recipe that would forego the "cakeyness" of other meatloafs. So following the advice of several others, I used: 1 cup of oats in place of the bread. The oats allow the ingredients to adhere to actually make a loaf without gluten and thus without that spongy texture that I hate. I also lined the loaf pan with sliced potatoes (bottom and sides with very thin slices on top of the meat and covered with a layer of sharp cheddar) and used: 2 tablespoons of finely diced shallots instead of onions. I also added: a few dashes of Worcestershire. The sauce is just beautiful, especially with a bit of apple cider vinegar. Next time I'm going to put an extra layer of sliced potatoes on the bottom (the potatoes underneath the meat soaked up the excess moisture from the loaf, making a sort of mashed potato crust). It was a happy accident that I intend to expand upon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Huge hit with the family - even those who weren't wild about meat loaf. It is definitely the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This recipe is delicious and the glaze was amazing. I used Italian flavored bread crumbs instead of bread cubes. I added Onion Powder instead of onions, and I used 97% lean turkey meat instead of beef. Substituted chicken bouillon for beef because that was what I had on hand. I added some minced garlic and served with scalloped potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabethamber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Great meatloaf! Easy to substitute and make additions- we love adding a cup of sauteed mushrooms and blue cheese (to taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkerdickerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Wow this is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Morrow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
will make this again everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Stockwell Caballero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Yummy! Though, I am gluten free so I substituted a small, chopped up gala apple for the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Very good flavor. My son doesn't like meatloaf & he said it was awesome. Needless to say I'm making this dish a lot .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yadkinville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Best meatloaf ever. Made exactly to recipe except that I cut the recipe in half because I had only one pound of meat. And instead of using 1.5 slices of bread I used two It was excellent. Tore the bread up in little pieces which I have never done in a meatloaf before and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I added 1/3 of a cup of honey to the ketchup mixture and it immediately became a family favorite! Very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornelius, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 897) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States