Glazed Lemon Supreme Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. I didn't follow the recipe exactly and perhaps if I did, I would've given it five stars. I used lemon pudding instead of lemon gelatin like some reviewers suggested. Also, instead of poking holes in the cake so that the glaze could saturate the cake (like the recipe calls for) I poured it over the top. The change I would make to the recipe would be to poke holes in the cake and pour the glaze into the holes like the recipe calls for. This probably makes it REALLY lemony. Then, I would pour a regular glaze over the cake. This would make it perfect in my book. By the way, for those of you wondering what apricot nectar is, it is apricot juice. You can usually find a can of it in the juice aisle. Libby's makes it and I am sure that others do as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This recipe is the "bomb"! I followed the recipe exactly as written and its wonderful. If you don't know what apricot nectar is, it is an apricot puree, much thicker than plain apricot juice. It is usually found in glass bottles..Goya is one brand that I know of. Apricot juice is NOT the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This cake was just ok to me. I made it exactly as the directions indicated. It did not turn out supermoist like I expected. Next time I will use lemon pudding as other users have suggested and a quarter cup of sour cream (which I normally add to all of my cakes) Sour cream ensures your cakes are moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I needed an Orange Pound cake, so I substituted all the lemon ingretients with orange; orange cake mix, orange gelatin, orange extract and orange juice. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Yummy! I did everything the same except for one thing. I doubled the amount of glaze. I poured the other half of the glaze on top of the cake after I flipped it. Everyone loved it and it was gone before we left the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This cake is wonderful!! I had a piece of lemon pound cake at Starbuck's a couple of weeks ago, and wanted to duplicate it not only because of the price, but so I could always make it if I wanted to. This is exactly what I was looking for, and my husband has eaten half the cake already. After I cooled it, I refrigerated it, and plan to keep it in there until it's gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I made this for an employees birthday and she requested a Lemon Pound cake like Publix makes. I found this recipe and we were all very greatful I did. It was extremely moist and flavorful. Changes I made, I used pudding instead of jello and I didn't use the lemon extract. I also reduced the cooking time to 40-45 min. The glaze was perfect by adding a little zing to the bite. After I glazed it I dusted it with powder sugar. I will use this all summer long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I love lemon so I could have eaten this by myself, but I made it for a baby shower where there were 4 other cakes to choose from and it was gobbled. My husband ate the remaining leftover piece the next day. I made it the day before and then put it in the fridge overnight and I think it intensifies the lemon. I don't like buying obscure ingredients so I used orange juice in place of the apricot nectar. Great texture. I also did as suggested by another reviewer and poked holes (with a skewer) around in the bottom of the cake while it was still in the bunt pan just out of the oven to pour the glaze in and then let it cool about 20 mins before removing it from the pan. Another tip for baking with bunt pans I read: instead of flouring your greased pan and having the white dust show when you take your cake out, make a paste with 1 Tbl melted butter and 1 Tbl flour and then brush it on your pan with a basting brush. Your cake will come right out and look pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
So delicious, and easy and quick. Looks pretty. I can't say anything bad about this one. I will make this a lot. I don't usually use cake mixes, I prefer to make my own but I do buy cake mixes for my kids to use, but when I came across this recipe I just had to try it I am sure glad and you will be to. Thanks Pam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
You've outdone yourself on this one Pam! Its a lemon-lover's delight. Dense, moist, veeerrry lemony.Has a very course crumb, but the flavor is outstanding. Try this one with an orange cake mix. If you like citrus, you won't be disappointed! Thanks Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States