Glazed Lemon Supreme Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. I didn't follow the recipe exactly and perhaps if I did, I would've given it five stars. I used lemon pudding instead of lemon gelatin like some reviewers suggested. Also, instead of poking holes in the cake so that the glaze could saturate the cake (like the recipe calls for) I poured it over the top. The change I would make to the recipe would be to poke holes in the cake and pour the glaze into the holes like the recipe calls for. This probably makes it REALLY lemony. Then, I would pour a regular glaze over the cake. This would make it perfect in my book. By the way, for those of you wondering what apricot nectar is, it is apricot juice. You can usually find a can of it in the juice aisle. Libby's makes it and I am sure that others do as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I have made this twice. The first time, I used other reviewers' advice and substituted lemon pudding, but it wasn't lemony enough for me. The second time I followed the recipe exactly, but bought a lemon cake mix with pudding included to maintain moisture. I also added lemon zest to the glaze, and it was a wonderfully lemony addition to the afternoon tea I did. My only issue is that it won't last long enough to try it after it has sat for a few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This was really yummy! The directions said to bake for 60 minutes, I just happened to check it at 40 minutes and it was done. Maybe it was just my oven. I did add the zest of one lemon, as well as its juice to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Could not stop eating this cake! I can't make this again without giving most of it away, or I will eat the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This recipe is unexplainably great. I will be making this over and over again. I would just say watch the suggested backing time. The cake was done in about 45 minutes for me. I sliced it and gave it away to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Wonderful! Loved the lemony, moist flavor. I will be making it again and again. I added a little lemon juice to batter. Thanksgiving guests had to have recipe! It can not be too lemony for us! pal01
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
A keeper for sure. I did change one thing. instead of using package lemon gelatin I used a box of instant lemon puddin instead. I have done this in other box cakes and it make it so moist that no one will ever guess it all sarted from a box recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
i just used the glaze recipe as i already had my own lemon pound cake recipe. i thought it was too runny and too sour. i had to add some milk to it to get rid of the really sour taste and extra powdered sugar to thicken it up. thanks anyway...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
A keeper for sure. I did alter it a bit. I used a 3.9 ounce of instant pudding instead of the gelatin. I use instant pudding in a lot of my recipes for moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
GREAT recipe...I add the zest of a whole lemon to the cake and the zest of another lemon to the glaze and it is WONDERFUL...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States